Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12/28/2006, 06:36 AM
hawkfish hawkfish is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: MI
Posts: 40
need help, trying to mod the eheim feeder

I'm trying to figure out how to integrate my Eheim feeder using an Aquacontroller III. Jon Lazar helped me out by explaining how he used an X10 module (um506). Basically, he opened the feeder and connected small guage wires on either side of the manual feed button, then connected the other ends to the Um506. I have a DC8 that has an open plug that I would like to use. At first, I was thinking of using a relay but I'm sure how that would work. Are there any electrical guru's out there that can offer some advise?
Thanks
  #2  
Old 12/28/2006, 12:23 PM
hawkfish hawkfish is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: MI
Posts: 40
Is it possible to wire a relay so that the circuit that's switched is unpowered? I've been looking all over the net and on reefcentral and still haven't found an answer.
  #3  
Old 12/29/2006, 06:19 PM
hawkfish hawkfish is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: MI
Posts: 40
I finally figured out what to do. I wired up a 3v dc power supply directly to the motor inside the Eheim feeder. There are some draw backs to this. I by-passed the computer on the Eheim, so it's either on, or off (no manual feeding) And the Aquacontroller works on minute increments so it spins the drum about 10 times before shutting off. I compensated for this by keeping the gate where the food falls out just a barely open. Even with these drawbacks, I found it works surprisingly well. Now, I can shut off pumps, feed, and have them turn back on, all without going near the tank. I will still feed frozen foods, but this will just help tide them over until I get around to it.
  #4  
Old 12/30/2006, 07:00 AM
hawkfish hawkfish is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: MI
Posts: 40
I should also mention that I'm using only flake food. I don't think this would work well with pellet food because the drum could stop with the gate facing down and all the pellets would spill out
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef Central Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2009