Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01/07/2008, 07:17 PM
x2uranium x2uranium is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 21
Arrow icecap ballast

For people who have Icecap 660 or 430, for a 4 bulb setup can you wire them up each lamp for seperate power switches, or once the ballast is on (all the lamps turn on). If that being said is true when you power up all bulbs turn on.....

will this work
http://www.aquacave.com/detail.aspx?ID=884#

says reqires hard wiring, so I am assuming that You can hook up each bulb individual to this??? Or am I wrong here?
  #2  
Old 01/08/2008, 08:09 AM
x2uranium x2uranium is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 21
Nobody has icecaps????
  #3  
Old 01/08/2008, 08:33 AM
luke33 luke33 is offline
One Good Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 5,622
All my bulb's fire when the light comes on, you cannot only fire two out of the 4. The link you have is just a timer you can program with 8 settings.
__________________
There's no such thing as a normal reef, there's just reef
  #4  
Old 01/08/2008, 10:07 AM
Racing1 Racing1 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 542
You cand only wire the ballasts to run all bulbs at once. There is no way that I know of the run them seperate, You can get a dimmer for it though...
  #5  
Old 01/08/2008, 10:24 AM
MattG MattG is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 2,972
Iecaps are either all on or all off. You can use multiple ballasts though but that gets expensive. Other option is a dimmer for sunrise/sunset as previously mentioned.
__________________
Matt
  #6  
Old 01/08/2008, 01:23 PM
Attreui Attreui is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 176
Fluorescent ballasts wire the lamps in series like the small christmas lights. You take any of them out of the loop and the whole line goes out. That is why this isn't feesable. It isn't impossible, but it would not be good for the ballast to do this because of the load changes. Better to get 2 small ballasts that can run dual lamps and are cheaper than the 660.
  #7  
Old 01/08/2008, 03:48 PM
x2uranium x2uranium is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 21
Ty for the replies, I thought that this was the case.. where can i find a dimmer for the icecap?
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef Central Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2009