Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01/10/2008, 09:56 PM
RobTop RobTop is offline
.
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Rockford area
Posts: 1,188
Urgent elec help please

This is quite urgent. One of my vacation projects was this elec deal and vacation ends at bedtime, so help please and fast.

The project was to put 2 DPST (double pole single throw) timers in. I want all my lights on 2 timers instead of all the differant ones, also this will put all the lights on 1 circuit and frees up several outlets, and bla bla bla.



So here's the problem, wiring these timers, excluding the ground there are 5 wire ports

A Line 1 Load 2 Line 3 Load 4

with the wiring diagram it is clear that the load is 2 and 4 (plus the ground of course)

The line is suppose to be a 3 wire supply, neutral to A, then 1 and 3. The braker is a 2 wire.



The question, is there a way around the 3 wire?

I am no electrition, but could I put the white wire in A, splice the black and hit 1 and 3 or do I need to switch to a 3 wire supply?



Thanks for the help (if it is fast that is
__________________
Never say die
  #2  
Old 01/10/2008, 10:40 PM
Icefire Icefire is offline
Phyto tank master
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,342
got a scan of the diagram or model number?
__________________
2 ocelaris 1-1.5", 1 bandaii cardinal, 1 yellow watchman goby

1 pep. shrimp, 10 nas, 1 astrea , 1 cerrith snails

Some softys

PH 8.1, Alk 11, NH3/4, NO2, NO3 0, Temp 77-79F, SG 1.025
  #3  
Old 01/10/2008, 10:42 PM
Icefire Icefire is offline
Phyto tank master
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,342
I see, now, you have a double pole, so you can hock 2 circuit, one per Line/Load combo.

If you use both on the same, you double the capacity
__________________
2 ocelaris 1-1.5", 1 bandaii cardinal, 1 yellow watchman goby

1 pep. shrimp, 10 nas, 1 astrea , 1 cerrith snails

Some softys

PH 8.1, Alk 11, NH3/4, NO2, NO3 0, Temp 77-79F, SG 1.025
  #4  
Old 01/10/2008, 11:00 PM
RobTop RobTop is offline
.
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Rockford area
Posts: 1,188
No idea how to scan it, and get it here. If it helps it is an Intermatic 103

What do you mean double the capacity?
__________________
Never say die
  #5  
Old 01/10/2008, 11:18 PM
Icefire Icefire is offline
Phyto tank master
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,342
http://www.intermatic.com/Default.as...&pid=376&pos=1

here how to wire it. You plug the load on 2/4 (hot wire, black) and wire the neutral from the white (A).

What I meant for the double capacity is the relay is rated for 40A per pole (2, 4), but if you wire 2/4 together you now have a single pole that is rated for 80A.
__________________
2 ocelaris 1-1.5", 1 bandaii cardinal, 1 yellow watchman goby

1 pep. shrimp, 10 nas, 1 astrea , 1 cerrith snails

Some softys

PH 8.1, Alk 11, NH3/4, NO2, NO3 0, Temp 77-79F, SG 1.025
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef Central Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2009