Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Reef Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11/07/2007, 02:49 PM
chrissreef chrissreef is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dallas
Posts: 513
How to move a DSB?

If I set up a 200g and then need to move it out of an apartment in 1-2 years and set it up in a house - how do I prevent all the toxic gasses from escaping into the water and killing everything?

Thanks!
  #2  
Old 11/07/2007, 03:30 PM
SeanT SeanT is offline
Refurbished Reefer.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Nort Carolina
Posts: 10,945
Years ago I was in the same boat.
I removed as much tank water as I could.
Then I placed all the rock, corals fish etc. into rubbermaids with tank water.
I discarded the DSB and used new sand in my tank.
I kept a small amount of the sand to help "seed" the new DSB.

Sean
__________________
My tank is cool. It has light bulbs a big bubble maker thingy and little boxes that blow water. It is way cool.
  #3  
Old 11/07/2007, 04:44 PM
jgln jgln is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pedricktown,NJ
Posts: 254
That's exactly what I did and it worked fine. Using too much of the old stuff looked like it was going to foul the water more than it was worth. You can clean the rest then use it later along with the smaller amount you kept. I was amazed how long I had to flush my old stuff before the water ran clean.
__________________
Jim
  #4  
Old 11/07/2007, 04:50 PM
chrissreef chrissreef is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dallas
Posts: 513
"I was amazed how long I had to flush my old stuff before the water ran clean."

This is why I'm considering going BB and having an external DSB refugium (if at all - sand always gets so dirty)
__________________
One's standard of living is definitively determined by the size of their reef. - me

We live with each other, not for ourselves - Protect our planet
  #5  
Old 11/07/2007, 05:20 PM
SeanT SeanT is offline
Refurbished Reefer.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Nort Carolina
Posts: 10,945
If you are wanting to go to a BB I can post some links to make your life easier.

Sean
__________________
My tank is cool. It has light bulbs a big bubble maker thingy and little boxes that blow water. It is way cool.
  #6  
Old 11/07/2007, 06:06 PM
Craig Lambert Craig Lambert is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,676
Quote:
Originally posted by SeanT
If you are wanting to go to a BB I can post some links to make your life easier.

Sean
Not to hyjack the thread, but how's the amemone doing seanT? Did he attach? Is he wondering or staying put?
__________________
"Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and he will spend all day in a boat drinking beer."
  #7  
Old 11/07/2007, 07:59 PM
sgtbilko sgtbilko is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Holbrook, NY
Posts: 73
Send a message via Yahoo to sgtbilko
Im thinking about going BB on my next move, that link would be great.
  #8  
Old 11/07/2007, 11:14 PM
zhenjw zhenjw is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 103
Send a message via AIM to zhenjw Send a message via Yahoo to zhenjw
Quote:
Originally posted by jgln
That's exactly what I did and it worked fine. Using too much of the old stuff looked like it was going to foul the water more than it was worth. You can clean the rest then use it later along with the smaller amount you kept. I was amazed how long I had to flush my old stuff before the water ran clean.
I am about to move in 2 weeks and need to remove the sand bed. If I were to reuse the old sand after moving it, would it be detrimental even if I skimmed heavily for several days and did a massive water change?
__________________
Hautung der seele.
  #9  
Old 11/07/2007, 11:27 PM
rbaker rbaker is offline
RC Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 11,769
Quote:
Originally posted by SeanT
Years ago I was in the same boat.
I removed as much tank water as I could.
Then I placed all the rock, corals fish etc. into rubbermaids with tank water.
I discarded the DSB and used new sand in my tank.
I kept a small amount of the sand to help "seed" the new DSB.

Sean
I agree with Sean. I'd remove all life you want to keep, isolate it from your system, then tear it down. I'd use 95% new sand and some lightly saltwater rinsed sand from your old DSB.

Good luck...
__________________
Ryan

These pretzels are making me thirsty...
  #10  
Old 11/08/2007, 01:15 PM
jgln jgln is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pedricktown,NJ
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally posted by zhenjw
I am about to move in 2 weeks and need to remove the sand bed. If I were to reuse the old sand after moving it, would it be detrimental even if I skimmed heavily for several days and did a massive water change?
Can't answer that since I never did it that way, but a gallon or two shouldn't dirty the water too much and my tank never crashed or anything. I wouldn't even lightly clean what you do use as it probably has a lot of live animals and benificial bacteria you don't want to wash out. My tank was up for several years and I just knew putting it all in the new tank would make my tank so cloudy I wouldn't be able to see one inch through the water, but your tank may be different.
__________________
Jim
  #11  
Old 11/08/2007, 01:21 PM
NewMariner NewMariner is offline
Tiny Miracles.
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 2,022
Quote:
Originally posted by zhenjw
I am about to move in 2 weeks and need to remove the sand bed. If I were to reuse the old sand after moving it, would it be detrimental even if I skimmed heavily for several days and did a massive water change?
The problem with this is your going to upset the layers of bacteria when you put that sand back in your tank. The bacteria in the bottom of the sandbed uses little oxygen, and with you stirring up the bed like this, you will kill that bacteria. Skimming and water changes will only reduce the ammonia, and nitrates, it wont restore the bacteria. I would advise to rotate your sand, start with new sand at the new location, let the old sand wash it and air it out, and dry, and then keep it. When you move again you can start the same process over without having to buy new sand.
__________________
Tony
  #12  
Old 11/08/2007, 01:37 PM
Raynman Raynman is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 8
ditto............. WELL said.... New Mariner.... I moved a 90G tank and 55G refug from Austin,TX 4 yrs ago and only reused the water from tank,which I carted 350 miles. I recently moved tank across the room and got that old sand out (which I had cleaned 4 yrs ago) and reused it....
I remember to this day how nasty it was, and how it took 3 hrs to rinse it 95% clean.... the tank never cycled hard either time ....... just had a little NTS... corals and fish never even knew they had moved.... DO NOT REUSE THE SAND... it's nas!-teee! ........... Ray
__________________
sometimes you the rabbit, sometimes you the dog.
  #13  
Old 11/08/2007, 01:38 PM
jgln jgln is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pedricktown,NJ
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally posted by NewMariner
The problem with this is your going to upset the layers of bacteria when you put that sand back in your tank. The bacteria in the bottom of the sandbed uses little oxygen, and with you stirring up the bed like this, you will kill that bacteria. Skimming and water changes will only reduce the ammonia, and nitrates, it wont restore the bacteria. I would advise to rotate your sand, start with new sand at the new location, let the old sand wash it and air it out, and dry, and then keep it. When you move again you can start the same process over without having to buy new sand.
Would doing that mean his/her whole tank will need to recycle before putting fish and coral back in?
__________________
Jim
  #14  
Old 11/08/2007, 02:01 PM
Jareth Jareth is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 91
Has anyone had any experience with this while using a plenum? From the article I read in Marine Fish & Aquarium (I think Sept, or Oct 07) the "bad stuff" in LS is not created when using a plenum. In the article the guy had left a 200(?) gal tank for 2 years, testing constantly both the main body of the tank and the plenum space, and after those 2 years he disassembled the tank and found no bad spots in the sand.
__________________
------

46 Gal Bowfront
Build in process
  #15  
Old 11/08/2007, 02:13 PM
NewMariner NewMariner is offline
Tiny Miracles.
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 2,022
Quote:
Originally posted by jgln
Would doing that mean his/her whole tank will need to recycle before putting fish and coral back in?
Yes, you will get a cycle when you disturb the sandbed...to what effect it cycles will vary. It depends on how much sand is disturbed, how far your moving, how big the tank is...all these will contribute. Some only see a small spike in ammonia...others just go through it again. I moved a sandbed and nearly lost all of my fish due to the ammonia...
__________________
Tony
  #16  
Old 11/08/2007, 02:48 PM
chrissreef chrissreef is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dallas
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally posted by Jareth
Has anyone had any experience with this while using a plenum? From the article I read in Marine Fish & Aquarium (I think Sept, or Oct 07) the "bad stuff" in LS is not created when using a plenum. In the article the guy had left a 200(?) gal tank for 2 years, testing constantly both the main body of the tank and the plenum space, and after those 2 years he disassembled the tank and found no bad spots in the sand.
I've heard similar - I'm still up in the air on Plenums... I've thought about just using large sand/gravel to achieve the same affect (like how some people put rocks at the bottom of their plant pots for drainage) - but I dunno. hmmm
  #17  
Old 11/08/2007, 04:35 PM
Jareth Jareth is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 91
I dont think the sand/gravel would work as a plenum. The plenum is really just a bare water space under your gravel. The plenum I am making (in blog) is 1/2" PVC and will be wrapped in filter material to stop gravel/sand from entering the space so you end up with a low-ox water space.
__________________
------

46 Gal Bowfront
Build in process
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef Central Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2009