Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Invert and Plant Forums > Tridacnid Clams and other Mollusks

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12/19/2007, 02:56 PM
mayo-92 mayo-92 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: england, manchester
Posts: 116
planning a clam cube nano

Well as the title says im planning me a clam nano which will be pretty much built by easter i am having it custom made so i can get the right dimensions i hope it seems quite unique well heres the stats up to now.


Tank: 10g 16"W x 16"L x 9"H
Filteration: 2.2g Sump with refugium and filter (protein skimmers etc?)
Lighting: 150w hqi

do i need anything extra like the skimmers, ozone and Uvs i wont be having any fish in i dont think juts some nice corals and a clam or two it is going to be minimal look

PLEASE HELP ME
thanks in advance


  #2  
Old 12/19/2007, 03:35 PM
seapug seapug is offline
clams are your friends.
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: 4980 ft.
Posts: 1,836
Sounds like a cool project, but I would consider trying to go for 20g+ for the sake of space and stability. Some clams can grow remarkably fast in good conditions. If a bigger tank is not an option, an auto-topoff system will be very helpful in keeping the params stable and saving you time. A 10 gal that's 9 inches tall with 150W HQI is going to lose a lot of water from daily evap.

Keep us updated with the progress.
  #3  
Old 12/20/2007, 06:30 AM
a4twenty a4twenty is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,588
i agree, it is going to be hard to maintain stable params. in such a small tank. other than that it should be ok
__________________
i don't have a problem with authority, i just don't like people telling me what to do
  #4  
Old 12/20/2007, 08:32 PM
checkinhawk checkinhawk is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: st petersburg
Posts: 3,324
i would drop that 2.2 g sump and get something more like 20g.it will give you a larger volume of water and be easier to keep stable.if it is possible just link it to your current tank to add extra water volume and stabilty.i had a 16g clam cube running for a while but it was linked to my old 90g system.i am doing another clam tank now but it is a 30g DIY rimless with a 16g sump.
__________________
click the little red house for my 150g build thread.
  #5  
Old 12/21/2007, 08:26 AM
gastone gastone is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 245
As has been mentioned parameters might be an issue. My take would be to go for it, but to increase evaporation with a fan. That way you can top off with saturated kalk to keep up with calcium/alk depletion. Go with smaller/slow growing clams such as croceas and maximas.

GL with the project.

Garrett.
  #6  
Old 12/21/2007, 10:10 AM
mayo-92 mayo-92 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: england, manchester
Posts: 116
well if i change the dimensiojns what to and then what do i skip the sump i just like the idea of such a small tank like that and if an auto top off will make it that i dont have to change dimensions then how do i make one
  #7  
Old 12/22/2007, 09:49 AM
superchargeme superchargeme is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Munroe Falls, Ohio
Posts: 29
I'm adding a clam tank to my 92 corner. I am using a 72 gallon breeder, only because of my 16"+ Gigas. Sounds like a difficult project. Clams are sensative to changes in their enviroment. The larger you can go the better it would be.
About the top-off I use solinoids and float swithches. This set up has been working for me for about 6 years. I had a problem one time when a snail in the sump was on the switch, so I added another switch next to the original, no problems, Good luck
  #8  
Old 12/24/2007, 02:15 AM
mskurdah mskurdah is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 75
I'd skip the skimmer, the UV, and the sump. I don't use any of them on my 30G and have five maximas in there that are happy as clams
  #9  
Old 12/24/2007, 06:00 AM
mayo-92 mayo-92 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: england, manchester
Posts: 116
mskurdah have you got any pics of the tank and how are you filtering it then
  #10  
Old 01/03/2008, 01:06 AM
mskurdah mskurdah is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 75
I have a thread on nano-reef.com. I use the same user ID. Sorry, I tried to post a link here, but it won't let me.
  #11  
Old 01/03/2008, 01:20 AM
michika michika is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 360
Send a message via AIM to michika
What about a smaller display system, and a much larger refugium/sump for stability. However I have to agree, you will quickly outgrow a 10g system. What about something larger with a similar shape?
  #12  
Old 01/03/2008, 05:45 AM
mayo-92 mayo-92 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: england, manchester
Posts: 116
hmmm i dont know what to do know im gonna get a nanocube 12g deluxe with a 70w viper light though so i dunno if that will be capable or have the same problem i think i might just have to wait untill i get a red sea max
  #13  
Old 01/03/2008, 12:06 PM
ludiNano ludiNano is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 123
Come on we all know that after 6 months your going to start on a bigger tank anyway.... lets be real here.
  #14  
Old 01/03/2008, 01:26 PM
michika michika is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 360
Send a message via AIM to michika
Quote:
Originally posted by mayo-92
hmmm i dont know what to do know im gonna get a nanocube 12g deluxe with a 70w viper light though so i dunno if that will be capable or have the same problem i think i might just have to wait untill i get a red sea max
Remember those all in one systems don't have a lot of floor space for clams. I used to have an 18"x18"x18" cube and I ran out of space for clams real quick.
  #15  
Old 01/04/2008, 05:59 AM
mayo-92 mayo-92 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: england, manchester
Posts: 116
ludinano your probably right maybe i should just wait and yes i have noticed the all in ones dont have alot of floor space ill just have to make the clam his own little half probably lol
  #16  
Old 01/04/2008, 12:26 PM
ludiNano ludiNano is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 123
I knew NOTHING about fresh/salt/breeding/fish/reef/1 yr 2months ago and now have 5 tanks going and a reef build on the way. And now have done all these. Thanks to RC for most all salt, and the pet store clerks i've buged the heck out of.

Just keep asking questions
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef Central Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2009