Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12/31/2007, 09:04 PM
susz susz is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 15
Question sump or no sump>

O, .help < O exhualted ones, I am trying to decide when I bring up my 75 gal reef tank, if I should just use hang on the back for protein skimmer, filter, ect. of should I use hang on the back overflow and put in a sump?????????? I was just going to use hang on the back for all, but today at my LFS I noticed a sump and it seemed pretty straight forward. I have 1+1/2 yrs with 5gallon nano, that has HOB filter, live rock, live sand, 10 watt 10,000k/acticnic blue. I have a clown fish, 10 mushrooms, colt leather, and small sponges, two hitchhicker ?clams. MY parameters are pH-8.2, ammonia-0,nitrate-0, nitrite<10, calcium 380 ppm, alkalinty-2.5mEq/l, specfic gravity -1.021. I bought a refractometer today as I am having trouble with keeping my specific gravity where I would like it, so soon that should be good.
THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME AND EFFORT
SUSZ
  #2  
Old 12/31/2007, 09:28 PM
bertoni bertoni is offline
RC Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Foster City, CA, USA
Posts: 35,743
Sumps are nice for hiding equipment and allow more choices for skimmers. I'd use one on that size tank, but either way will work. I'd get the 75g drilled, though, if possible, for an overflow.

Calibrating the refractometer with some of the PinPoint 53 mS solution would be a good idea, if you haven't done that. Calibrating with RO/DI water can be inaccurate:

http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2006-12/rhf/index.php
__________________
Jonathan Bertoni
  #3  
Old 12/31/2007, 09:36 PM
CaptainCoral CaptainCoral is offline
Jammin' with live rock
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Naperville,IL
Posts: 811
Hello.

Well, exalted I am not, but I'll share my thoughts.
I started out sumpless, but switched over within the first year. I feel that sumps have more pros than cons. I was never comfortable with HOB overflows, so I upgraded to tanks made for sumps. One big benefit of having a sump is keeping that salinity constant. It does, however, require some form of automatic evaporative water replacement. I have had the "cheaper" float switches fail and harm the tank parameters and its inhabitants.

I would suggest to consider how simple or complicated this new reef will be, as that is where the strengths and weaknesses of going sumpless or not are. You can have a very simple successful tank with or without a sump. That being said, full blown automated reefs benefit greatly from the use of a sump.
__________________
Sheesh, I get hung up on one reef, and they cry mutiny......blub,blub,blub
  #4  
Old 12/31/2007, 10:04 PM
Mavrk Mavrk is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California - South Bay Area
Posts: 1,088
IMO, get a sump, you will be happy you did. Besides the added water to help dilute any issues, and the fact that you can hide equipment, probably the best reason for a sump is (as bertoni pointed out already) that you can get a better skimmer.
  #5  
Old 12/31/2007, 10:08 PM
Misled Misled is offline
Movin On Up
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The East Side
Posts: 900
I agree with getting a sump. Makes everything easier. Also helps things look alot neater without stuff hanging off the back of the tank.
__________________
Jesse

I want to be a bear turd when I grow up. ~ Bart

All butts must be sniffed for identification purposes. ~ Mutt

Tequila makes my clothes fall off ~ crp
  #6  
Old 12/31/2007, 10:31 PM
Zestay Zestay is offline
Obsessed
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: gainesville, FL
Posts: 777
Send a message via AIM to Zestay Send a message via Yahoo to Zestay
i also agree. there are no downsides to a sump... ( except spending the cash on one ) larger skimmer. refuge options. more water volume. all pros no cons...
  #7  
Old 12/31/2007, 10:57 PM
gatordoc gatordoc is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gainesville, Fl
Posts: 47
+! on the sump
  #8  
Old 12/31/2007, 10:59 PM
PiXieCath PiXieCath is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 92
I agree too! I was afraid of setting sumps on my tanks. Now, I have sump on each of my tank and this is the best moove I've ever made! If you have the possibility to set up a sump on your system, go for it!;-)
__________________
Cath
  #9  
Old 12/31/2007, 11:29 PM
Mike7 Mike7 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Irvine California USA
Posts: 51
I was thinking the same thing. But got a sump for my 75g and am happy with it.
__________________
"You must unlearn what you have learned." "Once you start down the dark path, forever will it dominate your destiny, consume you it will..."
  #10  
Old 01/01/2008, 01:02 AM
kc9dre kc9dre is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Charlestown, IN
Posts: 63
Send a message via Yahoo to kc9dre
I have a 29gal tank and put a sump on it... and I love it... I am currently working out a plot to get my RO closer to where it is at so I can get that auto top off working... Water changes are easier too....
__________________
If all else fails read the instructions, if that dosen't work get a bigger hammer
  #11  
Old 01/01/2008, 01:25 AM
Newlin Newlin is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Noble, Ok.
Posts: 222
When I started, I had two HOB Emporer 400's and I kept them for a year. I had a hard time keeping the scum off the top of the water. I got a really good deal on a sump setup with HOB overflows and I will never run a tank without a sump again. I have not had an issue with the overflows nor hav I had a problem with the tank overflowing. The only issue that I have had is that the water evaporated faster than it did with the 400's and glass tops. Now, I have an open top and the sump is open as well. But, get a good top off and you will not regret it.
__________________
Everything that I own is for sale, click my little red house for info. Local pickup only.
  #12  
Old 01/01/2008, 02:42 AM
tmz tmz is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: West Seneca NY
Posts: 1,935
Sump is easier and offers much more flexibility. It doesn't have to be a fancy acrylic job, many use a simple storage bin or two. Have the tank drilled if you can. Overflows rely on a siphon which can break and cause a flood. If you do use an overflow consider using two of the u tube type. Those refered to as continuous siphon overflows fail frequently.
__________________
Tom
  #13  
Old 01/01/2008, 10:07 AM
susz susz is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 15
oh exualted ones, thank you for your info, thanks bertoni, for the info on the refractometer , I ask my LFS for calibrating solution as I am a medical technoogist, but they just look at me and said just use ro water, thanks for the hookup onsalinty and how to calibrate properly, there is nothing like salt water to get your chemisty /physics juices flowing, well maybe the corals and fish lol, thanks every one, I will calibrate right!!!!!!!!!!!!
  #14  
Old 01/01/2008, 10:09 AM
susz susz is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 15
sorry medical technologist, typing isn;t my stong suit
  #15  
Old 01/01/2008, 11:27 AM
sjm817 sjm817 is offline
Generic Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 11,103
I wouldn't run a system (except a nano) without a sump.
Hide equipment
Surface skimming
Constant display water level
MUCH better protein skimmer choices
Easier water changes
Increased water volume
Increased oxygenation
Easier dosing

If the tank is not set up yet, have the tank drilled for an overflow. If it is, and you cant have it drilled, use a GOOD HOB overflow such as a Lifereef. Stay away for the C channel overflows such as the CPR that require a vacuum pump.
__________________
[This space for rent]
  #16  
Old 01/01/2008, 01:50 PM
Mavrk Mavrk is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California - South Bay Area
Posts: 1,088
Quote:
Originally posted by sjm817
Constant display water level
This is the one I was about to add. I love that part.
  #17  
Old 01/01/2008, 02:03 PM
DawnOctopus DawnOctopus is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bedford, MA
Posts: 8
Like Tmz said, a sump doesn't have to be one of those expensive LFS bought ones -- I made mine out of a 16 gal rubbermaid tub. I don't have a lot of evaporation, either, because I leave the top on -- I just cut out spaces for the skimmer and return hose.
  #18  
Old 01/01/2008, 04:26 PM
DoctorLps DoctorLps is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 16
I love sumps and refugiums for many reasons.
The more water volume in a system the easier it is to maintain constant lvls. Also as metioned above easier to hide equipment, and this also allows you to use much larger and appropiate equipment for certain sytems. Chiller, heaters, skimmer, calcium reactor, refugiums all look nicer hidden away in the bottom of a stand.
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef Central™ Reef Central, LLC. Copyright ©1999-2009