Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09/24/2007, 10:21 AM
thysrof thysrof is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Santa Rosa,ca
Posts: 138
Send a message via AIM to thysrof
Korrallin Calcium Reactor Question

I'm running a Korrallin Calcium reactor c-1502. I bought the complete setup from HD and running the ARM reactor media. The tank is 120 gal with medium load,heavy on SPS. Recently the the drip valve on the affluent will clog and or stop,as well as the air release valve. This leads to the reactor chamber becoming cloudy and when I get them flowing again the tanks clouds up and within 24 hours it happens again. I lasted changed the media on 6/1/07 almost 4 months ago.

I'm wondering if its a multi problem, Low quality affluent drip valve(I've replced it twice in one year) and the ARM Media is being used up faster than anticipated,have noticed it has disolved by about 1/3 in almost 4 months.

Thanks Thysrof
  #2  
Old 09/24/2007, 10:46 AM
lvreefer lvreefer is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sin City
Posts: 912
Use a larger size media like Gen-x, Korallin, or coarse ARM. The small stuff compacts to easily.
__________________
share your knowlegde...
...you might learn something
  #3  
Old 09/24/2007, 11:20 AM
SDguy SDguy is offline
My reef is my fix :-D
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 8,866
Sounds like you let the pH in the reactor get too low, causing particulates to clog the valves, resulting in an even lower pH, resulting in more particulates....basically mud. I would remove the media. Rinse it in a strainer to remove the dust/particulates (or just use new media). Clean out the valves. Put it all back together. What pH/alk was your effluent?
__________________
Peter

Click my red house to see my tank :-)
  #4  
Old 09/24/2007, 11:25 AM
SDguy SDguy is offline
My reef is my fix :-D
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 8,866
BTW, I use these valves for controlling the effluent:
http://www.usplastic.com/catalog/pro...uct%5Fid=15616

I also run ARM.
__________________
Peter

Click my red house to see my tank :-)
  #5  
Old 09/24/2007, 01:17 PM
roblack roblack is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Miami Beach
Posts: 250
I have had the same problem, and CO2 started bubbling through the water lifter and back into my tank, dropping my Ph. Good thing I caught it quick.
  #6  
Old 09/24/2007, 08:44 PM
thysrof thysrof is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Santa Rosa,ca
Posts: 138
Send a message via AIM to thysrof
Thanks For the input,I just replaced the media and cleaned evrything real good. I didn't test the affluent PH before i replaced it. Last time I tested it a few weeks ago it was running about 6.5. I also just ordered a better drip valve(thanks for the link to the supplier) and I will buy a larger media for my next media change.

Thanks Again
Thysrof
  #7  
Old 09/25/2007, 11:28 AM
SDguy SDguy is offline
My reef is my fix :-D
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 8,866
Quote:
Originally posted by thysrof
Thanks For the input,I just replaced the media and cleaned evrything real good. I didn't test the affluent PH before i replaced it. Last time I tested it a few weeks ago it was running about 6.5. I also just ordered a better drip valve(thanks for the link to the supplier) and I will buy a larger media for my next media change.

Thanks Again
Thysrof
Don't go buying the larger media just yet. Once you get the hang of it, the small stuff works great. I'm currently experimenting with large media on the bottom, small on top.
__________________
Peter

Click my red house to see my tank :-)
  #8  
Old 09/25/2007, 11:53 AM
kevin gu3 kevin gu3 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Whitmore Lk, MI
Posts: 667
Do the US Plastics valves work better than the ones supplied with the reactor? Did you get the 1/4" barb versions?
__________________
Divert all money to life support. Your wallet will be assimilated. Resistance is futile.
  #9  
Old 09/25/2007, 12:59 PM
SDguy SDguy is offline
My reef is my fix :-D
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 8,866
Yes, and yes. These are needle valves. The ones supplied with the reactor are not.
__________________
Peter

Click my red house to see my tank :-)
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef Central Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2009