Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > More Forums > Reef Club Forums > SouthEast Region-Reef Club Forums > Chemical Valley Reef Club

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12/28/2007, 02:43 PM
spinnerbayt spinnerbayt is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: So. Charleston WV
Posts: 103
Send a message via AIM to spinnerbayt Send a message via Yahoo to spinnerbayt
110 build

Ok guys my christmas took a wild turn when my brother wanted to get a tank. We went and checked out a 110g tank that brian@sen and wvdaisy had put up forsale. It was a RR tank and my brother wanted a FW tank so. I told him that if he got the tank then I would trade him my 125 FW tank for the 110 RR tank. Here is a pic of what went to my brothers house.

The reason I wanted to trade is my 55g reef is just too small and the addition to my house isn't finished so I can't start on the 265g yet. So here are some pic's of the 55 that will be moveing to the 110 and some pic's of the 110 as I start the build.

55g






110g with a 30g sump




__________________
110 gallon display. 30 gallon sump/fuge. DIY lighting. 2x250 MH lighing soon to come.
  #2  
Old 12/28/2007, 02:53 PM
spinnerbayt spinnerbayt is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: So. Charleston WV
Posts: 103
Send a message via AIM to spinnerbayt Send a message via Yahoo to spinnerbayt
The first thing I need to figure out is a pump. The sump is plumbed for an external pump. What would you all suggest as far as GPH and this tank is in the living room so I need one that is quiet also. I would like to keep it as cheap as possable as I just ordered the the rest of the stuff I needed to DIY a 2x250 MH fixture.
__________________
110 gallon display. 30 gallon sump/fuge. DIY lighting. 2x250 MH lighing soon to come.
  #3  
Old 12/28/2007, 05:22 PM
Jimsreef Jimsreef is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Grayson Kentucky
Posts: 749
genx mak 4 or a iwaki 55 would work. Jim
  #4  
Old 12/28/2007, 05:35 PM
LtPiper LtPiper is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 1,037
I have a mag 7 (maybe 9) on my 55 and is quiet and has good flow.
  #5  
Old 12/28/2007, 05:54 PM
radone radone is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 990
Eheim 1260 or 1262 for quiet
a little more money but nice pumps
__________________
Romeo
  #6  
Old 12/28/2007, 08:15 PM
spinnerbayt spinnerbayt is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: So. Charleston WV
Posts: 103
Send a message via AIM to spinnerbayt Send a message via Yahoo to spinnerbayt
Ok, I was given a Little Giant 4-MDQX-SC but it looks like it could use a little cleaning. I have no idea how long its been just setting but i would say its been a while. This is a good size pump and I'm not sure how well it will fit under the stand with the sump. I'll post back later as to how and if it will fit. looks like it pumps about 1100 GPH at about 5ft of head. Give me your thoughts on this.
__________________
110 gallon display. 30 gallon sump/fuge. DIY lighting. 2x250 MH lighing soon to come.
  #7  
Old 12/28/2007, 08:15 PM
carb850 carb850 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 465
Send a message via AIM to carb850 Send a message via Yahoo to carb850
Your planted FW is beautiful, hate that you took it down but I understand.

Is the 110 a 4' tank?
  #8  
Old 12/28/2007, 08:49 PM
LtPiper LtPiper is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 1,037
That will be more than enough. You might want to consider putting a check valve so you can throttle it back some if it's too much.
  #9  
Old 12/28/2007, 09:16 PM
spinnerbayt spinnerbayt is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: So. Charleston WV
Posts: 103
Send a message via AIM to spinnerbayt Send a message via Yahoo to spinnerbayt
Tank is 60x18x23 if I'm not mistaken. I'm not at home to verify. I still have a planted tank. I just moved the fish and some plants from the 125 to a 55 in the bedroom. I know its not the same but it will have to do for now. Also I can still enjoy the 125 as its only about a mile up the road and I'm there at least twice a week.
__________________
110 gallon display. 30 gallon sump/fuge. DIY lighting. 2x250 MH lighing soon to come.
  #10  
Old 12/28/2007, 10:25 PM
carb850 carb850 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 465
Send a message via AIM to carb850 Send a message via Yahoo to carb850
Quote:
Originally posted by spinnerbayt
...looks like it pumps about 1100 GPH at about 5ft of head. Give me your thoughts on this.
If it has a single drain pipe, 1100 gph will probably be too much. Also, how do you plan on running your sump? Planning a refugium? If so, then you don't want near that much water going through it. Lower volume of water would be better. If your not going to do a refugium, or at least have the refuge seperate were you can control the flow, then the higher flow will not be a problem as long as your drain is up to the task.

I haven't decided for sure, but I'm thinking about 450gph on the 90G I'm putting together.
  #11  
Old 12/28/2007, 11:28 PM
spinnerbayt spinnerbayt is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: So. Charleston WV
Posts: 103
Send a message via AIM to spinnerbayt Send a message via Yahoo to spinnerbayt
Yes its just one 1" pipe for the overflow. Its setup as a sump/fuge combo so I do think that 1100 GPH is too much. I'll just save that pump for the 265. So now I'm looking at Pentair Aquatics Lifegard Quiet One- 3000 or 4000 pumps or maybe a mag 9.5. My other option is just cap the the bulkhead and use my existing internal pump that does 525 GPH and put my money into other parts of the tank. Which is what I'm leaning toward at this point that way I can just save that money and get the external pump later.
__________________
110 gallon display. 30 gallon sump/fuge. DIY lighting. 2x250 MH lighing soon to come.
  #12  
Old 12/28/2007, 11:37 PM
carb850 carb850 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 465
Send a message via AIM to carb850 Send a message via Yahoo to carb850
Can a single 1" drain do 1000 GPH? I'm thinking that is too much for it.
  #13  
Old 12/30/2007, 11:15 AM
spinnerbayt spinnerbayt is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: So. Charleston WV
Posts: 103
Send a message via AIM to spinnerbayt Send a message via Yahoo to spinnerbayt
Well I jumped in and started on the tank this morning and I was wrong about the size of the drain. It has one 1.5" drain and one 1" return. I think I'm just going to use the pump I have for now and will upgrade to an external a little later. Well I'm off to Lowes to get supplies.
__________________
110 gallon display. 30 gallon sump/fuge. DIY lighting. 2x250 MH lighing soon to come.
  #14  
Old 12/30/2007, 11:24 AM
Altpers0na Altpers0na is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: B.F.E
Posts: 574
i have 1 inch drain and return lines on my 75, and a mag 9.5 for a return pump.

i have to restrict the mag's output for the drain to keep up.

i think its draining something like 500 - 600 gph... but thats from a bulk head near the top of the tank... farther down it would drain more gph.
  #15  
Old 12/30/2007, 12:51 PM
LtPiper LtPiper is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 1,037
I have two 1200 gph overflows with 1" lines on them and a single mag 9 (yeah I looked it's a 9) so if either overflow stops working for some wanky reason (they keep going even when an air bubble gets in them) I have the redundancy built in.
  #16  
Old 12/30/2007, 10:10 PM
spinnerbayt spinnerbayt is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: So. Charleston WV
Posts: 103
Send a message via AIM to spinnerbayt Send a message via Yahoo to spinnerbayt
The tank is plumbed and it has some dead sand in the bottom. I filled it with fresh water for a test run and all seems good. NO LEAKS! Now here is my question. Can I just drain the FW back out and refill with SW and transfer all my live sand and rock over to the new tank and not have to worry about a cycle? Other tank is only about 10 feet away.

Progress Pic.

__________________
110 gallon display. 30 gallon sump/fuge. DIY lighting. 2x250 MH lighing soon to come.
  #17  
Old 12/30/2007, 11:13 PM
J-Burns J-Burns is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 58
I used to have A Qxd4 on a 75. Just put a valve on the outflow and you can turn it down if you need to.
  #18  
Old 12/31/2007, 12:45 AM
firefish2020 firefish2020 is offline
Coral Propagation Tech
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,460
Send a message via AIM to firefish2020
I would think it still will likely cycle at least some.
__________________
CVRC President
  #19  
Old 12/31/2007, 01:08 AM
spinnerbayt spinnerbayt is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: So. Charleston WV
Posts: 103
Send a message via AIM to spinnerbayt Send a message via Yahoo to spinnerbayt
I guess the better question would be. Do you think everyone would be ok if I just transfered everything from one tank to the other? I just don't want to loose anything in the move. I'm not sure how much sand I'll be moving but I would say that I have around 125 - 150 pounds of rock that will just be moved from one tank to the other.
__________________
110 gallon display. 30 gallon sump/fuge. DIY lighting. 2x250 MH lighing soon to come.
  #20  
Old 12/31/2007, 02:23 AM
mcox33 mcox33 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nitro, West Virginia
Posts: 2,078
Send a message via AIM to mcox33
use all the water from the original tank and mix enough to finish filling then run the filter from the smaller tank on the new one. Even if it is a second filter til the other one cycles in. Should be about the same as a 50% water change, small cycle still possible but with the old filter running while the new one cycles in and all the old water and assuming rock will transfer as well it should not be major.
__________________
Mary
  #21  
Old 12/31/2007, 12:55 PM
spinnerbayt spinnerbayt is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: So. Charleston WV
Posts: 103
Send a message via AIM to spinnerbayt Send a message via Yahoo to spinnerbayt
Thank You! Thats what I wanted to hear. Now I'm off to make the move. More pic's to come.
__________________
110 gallon display. 30 gallon sump/fuge. DIY lighting. 2x250 MH lighing soon to come.
  #22  
Old 01/01/2008, 11:14 PM
spinnerbayt spinnerbayt is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: So. Charleston WV
Posts: 103
Send a message via AIM to spinnerbayt Send a message via Yahoo to spinnerbayt
Guess its time for an update! I have made the move from the 55 to the 110. I just put the rock and corals in the tank all spread out. I will try and figure out how to scape it this comming weekend. I'm just glad the hard part is over. I'm using the same light setup that I had on the 55 for now. I guess I'm going to have to build a canopy in the next few weeks but as of now I'm still waiting on the stuff to build my MH setup. Its a wonder all that was in the 55. Well here is what it looks like now.




__________________
110 gallon display. 30 gallon sump/fuge. DIY lighting. 2x250 MH lighing soon to come.
  #23  
Old 01/01/2008, 11:30 PM
LtPiper LtPiper is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 1,037
Hey I have some of those yellow zoas/palys. Where did you get your's?
  #24  
Old 01/02/2008, 01:37 AM
mcox33 mcox33 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nitro, West Virginia
Posts: 2,078
Send a message via AIM to mcox33
looking good sure you want to scape it. I like it this way. Add a couple of branching pieces of rock in between and leave it as it is. JMO LOL
__________________
Mary
  #25  
Old 01/02/2008, 03:15 PM
spinnerbayt spinnerbayt is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: So. Charleston WV
Posts: 103
Send a message via AIM to spinnerbayt Send a message via Yahoo to spinnerbayt
The yellow zoas/palys came from the meeting before last. I can't remember who I got them from but there were only 2 on that rock when I got it and it now has 16 on it. I would like to get some more LPS after I get the tank to a point I'm happy with. I love the blastos I got from phil. I also had a heater get stuck on in the old sump and it cooked everything in it before I could move it. Now I need to get some more chaeto or something for the fuge. But in all its came together nicely (so far) I'm still waiting on MH bulbs and I'm not sure what I'm going to do about a canopy or if I want something to hang...I'm leaning toward the canopy. I'm thinking of adding 2x54 atinic t5's with the 2 14k 250's I have comming. I would also like to add some moon lights. Just too many things to think about. Does anyone have any MH reflectors they would like to get out of the way?
__________________
110 gallon display. 30 gallon sump/fuge. DIY lighting. 2x250 MH lighing soon to come.
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef Central Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2009