Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > More Forums > Reef Club Forums > NorthEast Region-Reef Club Forums > Upstate Reef Society

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01/10/2008, 01:04 PM
mattowen mattowen is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Youngstown, NY
Posts: 72
Question ACJr or Reefkeeper2

Which is better?

Does anyone have a used one laying around that might be for sale?

RK2's look like they go for $270 new and ACJr goes for $250 neither one includes pH probe.

Thanks for your input
  #2  
Old 01/10/2008, 01:06 PM
mattowen mattowen is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Youngstown, NY
Posts: 72
Sorry ACJr is $225 w/ DC8 on neptune's website
  #3  
Old 01/10/2008, 01:29 PM
fatrip fatrip is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: binghamton, ny
Posts: 1,324
i came up with $325 for the ACJr. to get everything you get with the Reef keeper 2. you need to add the serial port with the acjr as well as aquanotes. you can get the reefkeeper 2 from Twopartsolution for i believe $255. also reefkeeper has its version of aqua notes free. their revisions are free downloads as well.
  #4  
Old 01/10/2008, 01:44 PM
mattowen mattowen is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Youngstown, NY
Posts: 72
Thanks, I just checked there and it would be $297.33 shipped with pH probe and calibration fluid packets.

Seems to be a little better deal but I would still consider a used one if someone had one for sale
  #5  
Old 01/10/2008, 01:52 PM
fatrip fatrip is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: binghamton, ny
Posts: 1,324
do you have a Ca reactor on your 33? or Ph problems??that would realy be the only reason to use a ph probe, if not it is kinda a waste of money IMO.
  #6  
Old 01/10/2008, 02:24 PM
jfl14609 jfl14609 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: rochester, ny
Posts: 1,052
I got my controller acjr for 304 shipped that unite with serial port, dc8, temp probe, ph probe, and cable. should be here today. here is a good site with some great comparisons. http://www.aquariumcontrollers.com/a...ontrollerchart
also look at the neptune web site there are a bunch of extra features the unit can do if you get the extra software
  #7  
Old 01/10/2008, 02:24 PM
mattowen mattowen is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Youngstown, NY
Posts: 72
No Ca reactor yet but I am looking to upgrade in the not to distant future to a larger tank in which I hope to keep SPS and will therefore most likely want one
  #8  
Old 01/10/2008, 03:53 PM
ElDiabloPollo ElDiabloPollo is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 355
The ACjr can control 12 devices, the RK2 can only handle 8. Not sure if that makes a difference.

I have nothing bad to say about either. I love my ACjr. and I have only heard good things about Digitial Aquatics customer service.
__________________
J

"And that's all I have to say about that."
  #9  
Old 01/10/2008, 04:29 PM
mattowen mattowen is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Youngstown, NY
Posts: 72
This will be primarily for a upgraded tank that I have nothing for yet. How many outlets do you think I might need?

lights (probably 2 cords)
maybe an auxiliary fan for the light
skimmer (maybe just plugged into the wall?)
power heads (2? )
heater
return pump
fan/chiller
fuge light
moon light LEDs


hmmmm thats already over 8 and I'm sure that I'm forgetting a thousand things and more that I will realize I need after setting up
  #10  
Old 01/10/2008, 04:34 PM
mattowen mattowen is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Youngstown, NY
Posts: 72
well, if that was everything and I plugged skimmer into the wall, and then used a cheap timer for moon/fuge light that would put me at 8 Then if the lights came with their own fan that leaves one to spare. Can you put a power strip into one of the DC8 outlets for items on the same time schedules?
  #11  
Old 01/10/2008, 04:37 PM
ElDiabloPollo ElDiabloPollo is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 355
Personally I would not plug the skimmer or the return pump into the controller, unless you want to shut the return pump off at feeding time.

I would say that 8 would be fine, but you might want to expand in the future. This is why I choose the ACjr (I was lucky enough to get mine used though).
__________________
J

"And that's all I have to say about that."
  #12  
Old 01/10/2008, 04:39 PM
ElDiabloPollo ElDiabloPollo is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 355
Also, the ACjr comes with a DC8, in order to control the other 4 devices you would need a DC4.
__________________
J

"And that's all I have to say about that."
  #13  
Old 01/10/2008, 04:47 PM
Blugobi Blugobi is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: VanEtten, NY
Posts: 731
Hey keep an eye on this thread for the RK 3's release and you may be able to pick up a RK 2 real cheap.....

http://archive.reefcentral.com/forum...readid=1227621

Geo
__________________
:)
  #14  
Old 01/10/2008, 05:47 PM
rjrobert rjrobert is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Greece, NY
Posts: 649
Send a message via AIM to rjrobert
If your thinking of adding wave programs via an Netptune Aquasurf you may want to think about the regular AC instead of the jr.
  #15  
Old 01/10/2008, 07:17 PM
mattowen mattowen is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Youngstown, NY
Posts: 72
I just read that whole thread on the RK3/RKE and it sounds awesome and is promised to be under $600

I might wait until I have more money to blow on something like that or if not once it does come out, like blugobi said, the used controller market should be flooded driving the cost down for me.
  #16  
Old 01/10/2008, 07:25 PM
ElDiabloPollo ElDiabloPollo is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 355
I too have been watching that thread.

I would have mentioned it, but I thought you wanted somthing cheaper than $600.00, sorry.
__________________
J

"And that's all I have to say about that."
  #17  
Old 01/10/2008, 07:43 PM
mattowen mattowen is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Youngstown, NY
Posts: 72
I want something way cheaper but I might just say heck with it for now and save up for something like that
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef Central Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2009