Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01/10/2008, 09:55 PM
RobTop RobTop is offline
.
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Rockford area
Posts: 1,188
Urgent Elec Help

This is quite urgent. One of my vacation projects was this elec deal and vacation ends at bedtime, so help please and fast.

The project was to put 2 DPST (double pole single throw) timers in. I want all my lights on 2 timers instead of all the differant ones, also this will put all the lights on 1 circuit and frees up several outlets, and bla bla bla.



So here's the problem, wiring these timers, excluding the ground there are 5 wire ports

A Line 1 Load 2 Line 3 Load 4

with the wiring diagram it is clear that the load is 2 and 4 (plus the ground of course)

The line is suppose to be a 3 wire supply, neutral to A, then 1 and 3. The braker is a 2 wire.



The question, is there a way around the 3 wire?

I am no electrition, but could I put the white wire in A, splice the black and hit 1 and 3 or do I need to switch to a 3 wire supply?



Thanks for the help (if it is fast that is
__________________
Never say die
  #2  
Old 01/10/2008, 10:06 PM
BeanAnimal BeanAnimal is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 11,710
Can you please post the brand and model of the timers.


From your description:
You listed the timers as DPST

If that is the case, then there are two isolated switches actuated by a single control. If that is the case then yes, you can provide the same AC leg (black wire) to both LINE lugs.

Please post the brand and model to be sure.
  #3  
Old 01/10/2008, 10:59 PM
RobTop RobTop is offline
.
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Rockford area
Posts: 1,188
it is a intermatic T103
does that help?
__________________
Never say die
  #4  
Old 01/11/2008, 12:18 AM
cannarella cannarella is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Loganville, GA
Posts: 732
That is one confusing wiring diagram. It looks like it is meant for 240 but can do 120. So it looks like ground goes to the chassis, Neutral to A, and you can have 2 seperate line loads. Line 1 switches to load 2 and line 3 switches load 4. So you don't really need to use 3 and 4. They timer is designed for 240 so that is why it is DPST for the 2 hot leads. Hope this helps.
__________________
If my phaser discharges off by as little as .06 terra watts, it would cause a cascading exothermal inversion.
  #5  
Old 01/11/2008, 08:53 AM
RobTop RobTop is offline
.
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Rockford area
Posts: 1,188
Quote:
Originally posted by cannarella
That is one confusing wiring diagram. It looks like it is meant for 240 but can do 120. So it looks like ground goes to the chassis, Neutral to A, and you can have 2 seperate line loads. Line 1 switches to load 2 and line 3 switches load 4. So you don't really need to use 3 and 4. They timer is designed for 240 so that is why it is DPST for the 2 hot leads. Hope this helps.
that makes the most sence out of all the help I have gotten on all the posts.
__________________
Never say die
  #6  
Old 01/11/2008, 09:26 AM
cannarella cannarella is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Loganville, GA
Posts: 732
I am assuming you posted elsewhere but here. Bean's, aka Dr. House, question was the most helpful in identifying the model to go and find and decipher the instructions.

Here is a pretty good pic for using it for 120.


Just don't hook up the wire from 1 to 3 and don't use terminal 4.
__________________
If my phaser discharges off by as little as .06 terra watts, it would cause a cascading exothermal inversion.
  #7  
Old 01/11/2008, 10:23 AM
BeanAnimal BeanAnimal is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 11,710
I was not sure what the contacts on each pole were rated... That is why I suggested splitting the INPUT between the two poles
  #8  
Old 01/11/2008, 10:35 AM
cannarella cannarella is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Loganville, GA
Posts: 732
I read the instructions and it is 40A rated. That's on each pole. But he should be fine, it's a water heater timer.

http://www.intermatic.com/images/ins...8ts10946-1.pdf
__________________
If my phaser discharges off by as little as .06 terra watts, it would cause a cascading exothermal inversion.
  #9  
Old 01/11/2008, 10:37 AM
BeanAnimal BeanAnimal is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 11,710
Ahh then there should be no problem just ignoring the second set of contacts. Thanks for looking up the timer... I never got around to it!

RN. House
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef Central Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2009