Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > More Forums > Reef Club Forums > West Region-Reef Club Forums > Southern California Reefers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06/19/2007, 07:57 PM
rykwong rykwong is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Irvine
Posts: 985
Send a message via AIM to rykwong
How many here have a dedicated circuit for your tank?

For my 80gal I'm running 2x175watt halides, JBJ 1/10 chiller, eheim 1262 and 1260 pumps, two koralia 4's, and a fuge light. I want to add two 48 inch VHO's. Is it safe to run 10amps for an hour or two on a 15amp circuit? Should I possibly get a dedicated circuit for the tank? How many on here do this?

Last edited by rykwong; 06/19/2007 at 08:04 PM.
  #2  
Old 06/19/2007, 08:14 PM
bromion bromion is offline
It's Domo-kun
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Brentwood (L.A.), CA
Posts: 1,241
If you are below the breaker rating, you are OK. My apartment only has a few circuits, and I have never broken one of the 15A breakers per circuit. The 30A main breaker will trip every so often when my 800W of lighting is on. Not sure what's going on there yet.
  #3  
Old 06/19/2007, 08:15 PM
five.five-six five.five-six is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Anaheim, California
Posts: 2,148
separate breaker for a tank is nice but I consider a GFIC mandatory
__________________
A free people ought not only to be armed and disciplined but they should have sufficient arms and ammunition to maintain a status of independence from any who might attempt to abuse them G.Washington
  #4  
Old 06/19/2007, 08:41 PM
sandman450f sandman450f is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Riverside CA
Posts: 864
dedicated 30a here
__________________
If it ain't broke, break it; Then you can fix it
  #5  
Old 06/19/2007, 08:59 PM
savethereef savethereef is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bellflower,CA So Cal
Posts: 823
my small apartment has two breaker switches. Once controls the ground wired like room,kitchen,batroom ceileing light. the other one controls all the recepticles. I have two 250w mh pump and all with chiller. it will trip if i use the a/c or microwave and it will trip but otherwise it will hang in there with my cpu on and tv and surround. but it would be nice to add a dedicated

How much $$$ to add a dedicated power thing like that i am clueless on that.
__________________
Instead of building a reef in my home I would rather build my home in the reef!
  #6  
Old 06/19/2007, 09:03 PM
Bebo77 Bebo77 is offline
Non Paying Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles(Silverlake) & Monrovia (next to Pasadena)
Posts: 11,788
i have 2 circuits dedicated to my fish tank.... one for lights and another for everything else...
__________________
Gabriel

Want to see my tank? click on my Red House..
  #7  
Old 06/19/2007, 09:08 PM
FishyBiz FishyBiz is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga / La Verne
Posts: 1,411
I have three 20 amp dedicated circuits.
Lights
Chiller
Everything else
  #8  
Old 06/19/2007, 09:11 PM
bergzy bergzy is offline
Brother Maynard
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: The OC, Baby!!!
Posts: 4,082
Quote:
Originally posted by FishyBiz
I have three 20 amp dedicated circuits.
same here!
__________________
...and the people did feast upon the lambs and sloths and carp and anchovies and orangutans and breakfast cereals, and fruit bats and...

Ben.
  #9  
Old 06/19/2007, 09:17 PM
sandman450f sandman450f is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Riverside CA
Posts: 864
OKAY OKAY, cant be beat that badly by three circuits, so in reality I have 1 dedicated 30 inside and a dedicated 20 outside, both newly installed just for my aqua habit.
__________________
If it ain't broke, break it; Then you can fix it
  #10  
Old 06/19/2007, 09:36 PM
faded1004 faded1004 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: cypress, ca
Posts: 946
wow, i want to run dedicated... but i am geting by because my tank takes over the whole side of my place... that side is on one breaker...

i want to get one, but don't know where to even start with that... i wonder how much it will cost?
  #11  
Old 06/19/2007, 09:55 PM
sandman450f sandman450f is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Riverside CA
Posts: 864
If you have some knowledge and can DIY then its' cheap. If you gotta hire an electrician, aint so cheap i'm sure
__________________
If it ain't broke, break it; Then you can fix it
  #12  
Old 06/19/2007, 10:15 PM
golfish golfish is offline
20 & Over Club
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Alta Loma, Ca
Posts: 5,087
I've added 3x20amp for my system.
__________________
grow em, frag em and trade em...
  #13  
Old 06/20/2007, 11:14 AM
FishyBiz FishyBiz is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga / La Verne
Posts: 1,411
If there is one thing thats not cheep its an electrician.
Do NOT mess with this yourself if you have no prior knowledge!
I did mine myself but with my grandpa (electrician) watching me every step of the way.
  #14  
Old 06/20/2007, 01:26 PM
Corriander Corriander is offline
Mooooooo!!!!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 607
Quote:
Originally posted by FishyBiz
If there is one thing thats not cheep its an electrician.
Do NOT mess with this yourself if you have no prior knowledge!
I have to second this one. If you have never installed a breaker before, it can be a wee bit dangerous. The process is pretty easy but overlooking a single step can have disasterous results.


2x20A dedicated on my tanks.
  #15  
Old 06/20/2007, 02:04 PM
simon.007 simon.007 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: OC
Posts: 1,401
2 dedicated and one shared.

Simon
  #16  
Old 06/20/2007, 02:06 PM
JownsenJesus JownsenJesus is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 277
Send a message via AIM to JownsenJesus
2 dedicated 20 amps.
  #17  
Old 06/20/2007, 02:55 PM
antiant antiant is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: diamond bar/brea/rowland hts.
Posts: 438
can anyone do it for frags??? ahhaha. when u guys say its expensive, how much do u mean?
  #18  
Old 06/20/2007, 03:53 PM
silverarrow27 silverarrow27 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Banning, CA
Posts: 282
Send a message via AIM to silverarrow27
Been wondering how much it cost you guys as well if you hired an electrician?
__________________
220 gallon frag tank
  #19  
Old 06/20/2007, 04:41 PM
hipertec hipertec is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Southern California (Inland Empire)
Posts: 697
i need to set my system on a dedicated breaker. Sometimes when my chiller goes on, it trips my breaker.
Can anyone suggest an electrician in the Inland Empire that is a professional and cost effective?
  #20  
Old 06/20/2007, 04:45 PM
Canarygirl Canarygirl is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 814
I'm having my panel upgraded this weekend to add 2 dedicated GE circuits with 2 GFCI outlets....
  #21  
Old 06/20/2007, 04:49 PM
FishyBiz FishyBiz is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga / La Verne
Posts: 1,411
I had an electrician put 1 dedicated circuit in my office and it was $700.
Its easy to run wire in an open warehouse.
For a home the cost is going to depend on where your breaker is compared to where the plug will be. Some are simple.... some are not$$$
  #22  
Old 06/20/2007, 04:55 PM
sandman450f sandman450f is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Riverside CA
Posts: 864
I did it myself, and though i am happy to offer any help for most things, considering the nature of that beast it's prob not a good idea to solicit help from anyone that is not a qualified electrian, or for that many for anyone other that a qualified electrician to offer help.

There are a lot of things to consider, even the capacity of existing panel. I was lucky because I dumped exisiting circuits for the electrically heated jacuzzi and 220 laundry room to free up both space and capacity, not to mention my panel is only a good dozen feet from the tank, and I already had to re-drywall some of that section anyway.
__________________
If it ain't broke, break it; Then you can fix it
  #23  
Old 06/20/2007, 05:05 PM
Bill Z Bill Z is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Erie, Pa
Posts: 66
if nothing else get a GFCI. I was doing a water change and hit the light above my refug. It start to fall into the water and guess what I did....tryed to catch it. The light and my had hit the water at the same time. I felt a little shock but the GFCI did what it's job and all is well. Except I need a new light.
  #24  
Old 07/04/2007, 02:11 AM
greghigham greghigham is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Francisco bay area
Posts: 29
For perspective; I am setting up a new 187g reef and had my electrician add two new, separate 30amp circuits (w/ GFCI). They had to cut sheetrock and run 30' of wire - ~$600... but I think well worth every nickel JIC.
G w/ $.02
  #25  
Old 07/04/2007, 02:27 AM
SPSFiend SPSFiend is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 841
I had a dedicated 20amp circuit run in to my living room for my tank. But the place I live in is old and i was having problems.
__________________
Thanks,

Gerry
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef Central Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2009