Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11/11/2007, 12:52 PM
Volkman Volkman is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lake Zurich, IL
Posts: 103
Icecap wiring questions

Hey guys, I am having problems wiring my Icecap 660 to my dual VHO's. I bought the light and ballasts used from a friend and he was using differnt plugs. So I have to spice togethor all the wires. I am no electrician so please, I NEED HELP!!! HA!
The first pic is the wire coming from the lights, the second is from the harness from the ballast, and the third is the wiring from the plug that I need to wire into the ballast for power. Anyone have any idea how to do this? I tried matching all the colors, yellow to yellow, red to red, etc.... and only one of the bulbs would fire, then immeaditly go out. I also tried switching bulbs to make sure that they were all working and they are all good. Did I have this hooked up right and possibly an endcap is bad?? Or am I just a crappy electrician??!!







Thanks guys!!!
  #2  
Old 11/11/2007, 02:42 PM
jkreefer jkreefer is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NOR CAL
Posts: 738
take a picture of the wiring diagram on the back of the ballast and post it
  #3  
Old 11/11/2007, 02:49 PM
Volkman Volkman is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lake Zurich, IL
Posts: 103
Here is a link to icecap, http://209.204.76.225/660-2.htm

The only problem is that there is no orange coming from the lamps.... what do I do?
  #4  
Old 11/11/2007, 05:09 PM
tank o tang tank o tang is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 213
order a new wire harness if your not able to do it.
__________________
Look what I bought for your tank honey.
  #5  
Old 11/11/2007, 05:15 PM
Volkman Volkman is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lake Zurich, IL
Posts: 103
Well, the wiring harness is the same as a new one..... so I don't think that's it, I think it's more so the wiring coming off the light. It has yellow, red and blue, no orange. Which according to Icecap, needs to be connected. What do I connect the orange(coming off the ballast) to?? Any ideas?
  #6  
Old 11/11/2007, 05:43 PM
fat-tony fat-tony is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hornell, NY
Posts: 1,244
Send a message via AIM to fat-tony Send a message via Yahoo to fat-tony
Quote:
Originally posted by Volkman
Here is a link to icecap, http://209.204.76.225/660-2.htm

The only problem is that there is no orange coming from the lamps.... what do I do?
You want both reds going into the bulb with yellow coming out of the same bulb. The other will be blue going into the bulb with orange coming out. The purples will each have a wirenut or be taped off to seperate them from each other AND the other wires and the same goes for the brown. If the orange isn't long enough to get to the other end of the bulb, splice in new wire and just keep track of the color going ot the orange so you don't cross any up.

On another note, make sure all wire you use is 18gauge with a 600volt rating.
__________________
Jason
  #7  
Old 11/11/2007, 05:50 PM
Volkman Volkman is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lake Zurich, IL
Posts: 103
Gosh I hate electrical..... So do I have to re-wire the light so that it has orange wires coming out?? There are no orange coming from the light, just the ballast. Sorry if I am not understanding.....
  #8  
Old 11/11/2007, 06:11 PM
fat-tony fat-tony is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hornell, NY
Posts: 1,244
Send a message via AIM to fat-tony Send a message via Yahoo to fat-tony
Quote:
Originally posted by Volkman
Gosh I hate electrical..... So do I have to re-wire the light so that it has orange wires coming out?? There are no orange coming from the light, just the ballast. Sorry if I am not understanding.....
Essentially yes. The wires themselves don't have to be orange, they need to be seperate from the existing wires though.


What I would to to simplify evertything is..

Connect the blue bulb wires to the blue ballast wires and electric tape or wire-nut them.

Connect the red bulb wires to the red ballast wires and electric tape or wire-nut them.

Connect the yellow bulb wires to the yellow ballast wires and electric tape or wire-nut them.

At this point you should be left with orange, brown and purple.

Each brown and purple wire will individually have a wirenut on it and be seperated completely from all other wires (even their own color)

At this point you will have orange left. With orange left, you can either connect the ballast wires directly to the socket or you can splice in wire to make them longer (color doesn't matter as long as it's 18 gauge and 600v rated)
__________________
Jason
  #9  
Old 11/11/2007, 06:13 PM
Volkman Volkman is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lake Zurich, IL
Posts: 103
Ok, so I just need to run a (orange) wire from the orange on the ballast to the light?
  #10  
Old 11/11/2007, 07:00 PM
fat-tony fat-tony is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hornell, NY
Posts: 1,244
Send a message via AIM to fat-tony Send a message via Yahoo to fat-tony
yep...be careful not to have it not work too many more times, the ballast tends to not like continual starts with open connections
__________________
Jason
  #11  
Old 11/11/2007, 07:03 PM
Volkman Volkman is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lake Zurich, IL
Posts: 103
Thanks Jason for the advice.... simple now that I know what to do..... what do I do if that does not work?? I don't want to ruin the ballast.
By the way, love the Fat-Tony avatar!!
  #12  
Old 11/11/2007, 08:19 PM
fat-tony fat-tony is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hornell, NY
Posts: 1,244
Send a message via AIM to fat-tony Send a message via Yahoo to fat-tony
If it doesn't work, head to the icecap forum. Give them a few pictures like you did here and he can give you a link to a test to make sure the ballast is still ok. It "should" work assuming the ballast is still ok, if not it may need repair which they can help you determine.
__________________
Jason
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef Central Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2009