Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01/09/2008, 02:54 PM
loves saltwater loves saltwater is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Katy,Tx
Posts: 942
Where to put probe for PH controller

I have bought a ph controller and I need to know where I should put the probe up in the tank or the sump. Please let me know where would be the ideal placement for the probe for the best control of ph.
__________________
Does anyone have the number to Reef Keepers Anonymous!

AM- 0
Rite- 0
Rate- 0
Phos- 0
PH- 8.0
SG- 1.026
Cal- 420
KH- 8.0 dKH
Alk- 2.51 meg/L
Mag- 1350
Temp-78-80
  #2  
Old 01/09/2008, 03:05 PM
netboy netboy is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 99
What are you trying to control?
  #3  
Old 01/09/2008, 03:13 PM
gman08016 gman08016 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25
I would put it in the sump so you don't see it.Same water runs though the system.
  #4  
Old 01/09/2008, 03:15 PM
loves saltwater loves saltwater is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Katy,Tx
Posts: 942
I am trying to control PH or the pump that will be dosing...So it does not matter where you put it in the sump ? Like close to the return pump/close to the drain from the tank/

My main concern is when the pump comes on to raise the PH how long will it take to register on my controller and cut it off
__________________
Does anyone have the number to Reef Keepers Anonymous!

AM- 0
Rite- 0
Rate- 0
Phos- 0
PH- 8.0
SG- 1.026
Cal- 420
KH- 8.0 dKH
Alk- 2.51 meg/L
Mag- 1350
Temp-78-80
  #5  
Old 01/09/2008, 03:25 PM
netboy netboy is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 99
It doesnt matter where you put it since whatever you dose has to be dilluted into the water. As long as there is flow everything should read the same or at least very very close to it, nothing i would worry about.
  #6  
Old 01/09/2008, 03:26 PM
loves saltwater loves saltwater is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Katy,Tx
Posts: 942
Great thanks for the info !
__________________
Does anyone have the number to Reef Keepers Anonymous!

AM- 0
Rite- 0
Rate- 0
Phos- 0
PH- 8.0
SG- 1.026
Cal- 420
KH- 8.0 dKH
Alk- 2.51 meg/L
Mag- 1350
Temp-78-80
  #7  
Old 01/09/2008, 03:44 PM
spreston spreston is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 121
IMO, between the last baffle before the return area (water flow going down around probe tip). I have always had the most consistent readings at this location, but in all reality as long as there is good flow it probably doesn't matter. Just keep it away from your kalk or calcium effluent.

Steve
  #8  
Old 01/09/2008, 03:50 PM
marsh marsh is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally posted by loves saltwater
I am trying to control PH or the pump that will be dosing...So it does not matter where you put it in the sump ? Like close to the return pump/close to the drain from the tank/

My main concern is when the pump comes on to raise the PH how long will it take to register on my controller and cut it off
I don't believe you want to control pH with additives. Generally, kalk and Ca reactors are for Ca and Alk supplementation not for pH control. Kalk will temporarilly raise pH until the tank equilibrates. A low pH is often due to high room C02 and sometimes due to increased endogenous acid production such as from overfeeeding.

Ph controllers for calcium reactors are best placed in the chamber through a port or a effluent basin.

If you are trying to protect aginst flooding a tank with excess Kalk you might want to place the probe upstream from the Kalk in order to permit mixing.

You may want to post this question on the chemistry forum and see what responses you get.
  #9  
Old 01/09/2008, 06:47 PM
loves saltwater loves saltwater is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Katy,Tx
Posts: 942
Will do that thanks !
__________________
Does anyone have the number to Reef Keepers Anonymous!

AM- 0
Rite- 0
Rate- 0
Phos- 0
PH- 8.0
SG- 1.026
Cal- 420
KH- 8.0 dKH
Alk- 2.51 meg/L
Mag- 1350
Temp-78-80
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef Central Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2009