Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11/16/2007, 05:10 PM
garygb garygb is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: los angeles
Posts: 413
Suggestion for a DIY RDSB w/o sump

Anyone have a deep sand bed that is not in a sump? If so, how did you set it up?
Gary
  #2  
Old 11/16/2007, 05:33 PM
exoticaquatix exoticaquatix is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: baltimore, MD
Posts: 407
Send a message via AIM to exoticaquatix
you would need to put it above the display tank and pump water up onto it. otherwise the container would have to be totally sealed. maybe a big acrylic box with a water/air-tight lid, a bulk head on each side and a big feed pump in the tank. you would end up putting the this RDSB where a sump would be in which case i would just get the sump.
-nick
__________________
"If you sqeeze me, I make bad people go away!"
-Petey the Pistol
  #3  
Old 11/17/2007, 12:56 AM
garygb garygb is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: los angeles
Posts: 413
Hi,
Thank you for those suggestions. I'm thinking that it might be easiest to have it higher than the display. I suppose a large canister filter with the media removed and lots of live sand could do the job; however, I don't know if that is feasible or not. I have a 50 gallon, currently with a DSB, but recently I've started to detect nitrates (in fact they were high (60ppm or so) before several water changes).

Thanks,
Gary
  #4  
Old 11/17/2007, 07:45 AM
Lemmz Lemmz is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Le Roy, Il
Posts: 109
Send a message via Yahoo to Lemmz
From what I have read you don't want to force water through the sand , you want the water to flow across the top of the sand just fast enough to keep anything from settling there. If the water if forced through the sand it wont create an oxygen free zone for the beneficial nitrate reducing bacteria to colonize.
__________________
You go in the cage, cage goes in the water, you go in the water. Shark's in the water, our shark. ~Quint
  #5  
Old 11/17/2007, 10:57 AM
garygb garygb is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: los angeles
Posts: 413
Hey,

And thank you for the reply. I know that some canister filters (hydor) are made where the water comes in the top and then is "forced" upward through a column of filter media. if that column with the filter media were replaced with just sand, then the water would enter and exit at the top and no water would be moving up through the sand, thus the anoxic zone. However, the only canister filters I've ever had were rather small. I'm not sure how many gallons of sand are needed for a 50 gallon aquarium like mine.
  #6  
Old 11/17/2007, 01:35 PM
larryl larryl is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 664
There's a super-long thread about remote DSB here:

http://archive.reefcentral.com/forum...hreadid=595109

You might want to contact ZenMan, he's local to our club and has been running one:




Larry
  #7  
Old 11/17/2007, 03:40 PM
garygb garygb is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: los angeles
Posts: 413
Thank you Larry for the pic and post. I will read all of that thread. Much appreciated.
Gary
  #8  
Old 01/02/2008, 08:24 AM
chrismhaase chrismhaase is offline
Wife and dog.
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tampa, FL- (Lithia)
Posts: 1,655
Quote:
Originally posted by larryl
There's a super-long thread about remote DSB here:

http://archive.reefcentral.com/forum...hreadid=595109

You might want to contact ZenMan, he's local to our club and has been running one:




Larry
Larry, is your water in on the top or the side? I would assume the top but just wanted to make sure.

Thanks,

Chris
__________________
Click the red house to see my 90 SPS build.

Always accepting frags!!
  #9  
Old 01/02/2008, 08:24 AM
chrismhaase chrismhaase is offline
Wife and dog.
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tampa, FL- (Lithia)
Posts: 1,655
PS-- What type of bulkheads are those and where did you get those? HD or LOWES or a fish place?
__________________
Click the red house to see my 90 SPS build.

Always accepting frags!!
  #10  
Old 01/02/2008, 01:47 PM
not_sponsored not_sponsored is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 114
Those probably aren't bulkheads, I think they're part of the container. It would be pretty hard to screw them in without a wrench or hand on the other side.
  #11  
Old 01/02/2008, 07:17 PM
Newlin Newlin is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Noble, Ok.
Posts: 222
Here is my fuge, well at least it was. I have this plumbed into the return to the tank with a ball valve so that I can regulate the flow. there is a CPR overflow that goes to the sump. I did away with my sump today and I have 2 10 gallons under my tank, one is a fuge and the other is a return/skimmer area. I will get pics of that some day .
__________________
Everything that I own is for sale, click my little red house for info. Local pickup only.
  #12  
Old 01/02/2008, 07:17 PM
Newlin Newlin is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Noble, Ok.
Posts: 222
Here is my fuge, well at least it was. I have this plumbed into the return to the tank with a ball valve so that I can regulate the flow. there is a CPR overflow that goes to the sump. I did away with my sump today and I have 2 10 gallons under my tank, one is a fuge and the other is a return/skimmer area. I will get pics of that some day .

__________________
Everything that I own is for sale, click my little red house for info. Local pickup only.
  #13  
Old 01/02/2008, 07:17 PM
Newlin Newlin is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Noble, Ok.
Posts: 222
This was a repost so I will just add a little here.

This pic was before I put 5" of sand in it. There is now more than that cause I had extra when I took my other tank down.
__________________
Everything that I own is for sale, click my little red house for info. Local pickup only.
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef Central Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2009