Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12/26/2007, 07:17 PM
cy88 cy88 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 96
Phosban reactor

Hi all,

Quick question - Is it worth it to get a phosban reactor?

Thanks,
//Chris
  #2  
Old 12/26/2007, 07:19 PM
kau_cinta_ku kau_cinta_ku is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: NW Iowa
Posts: 5,920
Send a message via Yahoo to kau_cinta_ku
IMO yes and even better to get 2 of them. 1 for phosban and 1 for carbon.
__________________
Sam
  #3  
Old 12/26/2007, 07:53 PM
swisha swisha is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NOLA
Posts: 107
Agreed.
  #4  
Old 12/26/2007, 08:04 PM
seapug seapug is offline
clams are your friends.
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: 4980 ft.
Posts: 1,836
phosban reactor =

2 x phosban reactor =
  #5  
Old 12/26/2007, 09:30 PM
drillsar drillsar is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,098
you need 2 for a 55gal tank? I have 1 phosban but what does carbon do?
  #6  
Old 12/26/2007, 09:33 PM
bertoni bertoni is offline
RC Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Foster City, CA, USA
Posts: 35,743
I think one is fine for that size tank. Activated carbon can remove organic compounds that make the water yellow, and also some soft coral toxins.
__________________
Jonathan Bertoni
  #7  
Old 12/26/2007, 09:36 PM
five.five-six five.five-six is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Anaheim, California
Posts: 2,148
I mix my GFO and GAC in my reactor, works nice.. remember 1 gram of GFO/gallon, no more.. your firs time using GFO run less than 1/2
__________________
A free people ought not only to be armed and disciplined but they should have sufficient arms and ammunition to maintain a status of independence from any who might attempt to abuse them G.Washington
  #8  
Old 12/26/2007, 09:36 PM
drillsar drillsar is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,098
Cant you use a regular filter for that?
  #9  
Old 12/26/2007, 09:48 PM
bertoni bertoni is offline
RC Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Foster City, CA, USA
Posts: 35,743
As long as the flow is slow enough and water gets forced through the media, any filter can be used.
__________________
Jonathan Bertoni
  #10  
Old 12/26/2007, 09:56 PM
Psychojam Psychojam is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 111
Questions:

1. What is GFO and GFC?

2. Is there any downside to running carbon?

3. Is there a problem with phosban causing a decreased alkalinity? If so how do you prevent/correct this?

Thanks
__________________
James

BioCube 14
  #11  
Old 12/26/2007, 10:58 PM
Amyandlars Amyandlars is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 134
This is the 2nd post advising running carbon. Is this a usual filter in tanks? I haven't ran carbon in my tank since set up, now wondering if I should.

As for question #3, there is a possibilty that alkalinity maybe decreased. Before running phosban test your Alk levels and just monitor it. I think if there is alot of Phos that has to be filtered out, that causes a drop in Alk.
  #12  
Old 12/27/2007, 03:40 AM
bertoni bertoni is offline
RC Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Foster City, CA, USA
Posts: 35,743
1. GFO = a phosphate removing filter material, basically rust:

http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2004-11/rhf/index.htm

GAC is granular activated carbon. Lots of people run GAC, and I think it's a good idea.

2. Not as far as I know.

3. GFOs can cause the precipitation of calcium carbonate, which would lead to increased calcium and alkalinity dosing.
__________________
Jonathan Bertoni
  #13  
Old 12/27/2007, 03:58 AM
Freed Freed is offline
Ich Rumor/Myth Buster
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ft. Wayne, IN.
Posts: 5,350
Which brand of phosban reactor is best for a 75 gallon? I've read that TLF brand sucks and also that Kent brand sucks but then in the next thread I hear exactly the opposite.
__________________
Freed
  #14  
Old 12/27/2007, 04:03 AM
drillsar drillsar is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,098
Two little Fishies Stink? I dont think so, I think there one of the best.
  #15  
Old 12/27/2007, 04:05 AM
bertoni bertoni is offline
RC Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Foster City, CA, USA
Posts: 35,743
I have two of the new TLF reactors with a screw-on top, and they seem fine to me.
__________________
Jonathan Bertoni
  #16  
Old 12/27/2007, 04:11 AM
plaereef plaereef is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 122
So the ruling is "YES", get two!
  #17  
Old 12/27/2007, 05:40 AM
siwelk siwelk is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 297
+1 on the TLF reactor...i just ordered one for my 30g. ive heard only good things about them (except for one recent thread). im ruling in favor of the masses.


HTH
__________________
-Lewis
  #18  
Old 12/27/2007, 05:44 AM
masterswimmer masterswimmer is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: East of the Mississippi, north of the mason dixon line
Posts: 3,221
TLF makes a great reactor. Very affordable, does the job, durable (don't take a hammer to it though), super customer service, always available, what more are you looking for?

I agree......one for GFO and one for GAC. They really should be run with different degrees of flow. You'll be happy you made the move to increase your husbandry. They're easy to use and a snap to clean and maintain.

swimmer
__________________
I said, "look honey, we paid the mortgage and we have all this money left over for the tank." Her response confused me. She said we still needed to buy food and pay the utilities.
  #19  
Old 12/27/2007, 07:11 AM
ch0daboy ch0daboy is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 23
i heard you could run both media in one reactor is this true?
  #20  
Old 12/27/2007, 07:12 AM
dinoman dinoman is offline
Dino - Victim of Women
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Wyoming
Posts: 986
I just got a couple of the TLF reactors a few weeks ago and I haven't had a bit of problem with them. I'm not sure exactly how something COULD go wrong with them, unless you got a leaky or broken one. Super simple to use and if you find you don't need to run GFO or GAC you can stick virtually anything in them! You could probably even stuff some rock rubble in them if you wanted for more biological filtering. For $30 + or - I don't really think there is a way you could go wrong with one IMO.
__________________
Support the National Bone Marrow Registry

"And who could have ever guess that Dino is apparently the smartest man on the planet?" - jgoodrich71
  #21  
Old 12/27/2007, 07:15 AM
dinoman dinoman is offline
Dino - Victim of Women
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Wyoming
Posts: 986
Quote:
Originally posted by ch0daboy
i heard you could run both media in one reactor is this true?
You can, but I wouldn't consider it the most optimal . You'll probably want to get some extra sponges to separate the media, as the carbon and phosban will need to be changed at different times.

So yes, you can, but I think most end up finding its generally just easier to get a second one for another $30 and daisy chain them together for sheer convenience.
__________________
Support the National Bone Marrow Registry

"And who could have ever guess that Dino is apparently the smartest man on the planet?" - jgoodrich71
  #22  
Old 12/27/2007, 09:00 AM
bmrescort bmrescort is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Charles
Posts: 222
TLF phosban reactors are the way to go. If anyone has a problem with using these reactors I would hate to think of all the other problems that they have and are afraid to say so. These reactors are the easiest things to use.
__________________
Jerry
  #23  
Old 12/27/2007, 10:35 AM
dsn112 dsn112 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 485
I agree, im using the tlf reactor, and it is so simple, I have changed the media 3 times, it is super easy and good quality.
  #24  
Old 12/27/2007, 10:43 AM
down and outman down and outman is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: LaGrange GA
Posts: 151
Carbon needs to be changed often, while GFO lasts a long time. I ditto TLF reactor sweet and simple. Check out www.twopartsolution.com for GFO, carbon and other goodies. Speaking of which I need to order some.
__________________
"There you go Lad! Keep as cool as you can. Face piles of trials with smiles." Pink Floyd
  #25  
Old 12/27/2007, 10:46 AM
connpatd connpatd is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 84
I bought one of the TLF Reactors but don't have a pump for it yet. what is a good pump to use with it?

120 Gallon tank btw
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef Central Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2009