Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Reef Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Thread Tools
Old 01/06/2008, 10:52 PM   #501
melev
Moved On
 
melev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Ft Worth, Tx
Posts: 43,217
If you had a Tee in the line after the RO membrane and before the DI resin, you could let it run for 1 minute into a bucket or nearby sink, then take a sample of that water in your stolen McDonald's cup. Test it for TDS.

We need to know what the number is before the resin to see how well the membrane is working.

Anything under 10 TDS is fine. We like it lower, but compared to what is coming out of the tap, it's great. I change my filters out if it reaches 7, if you wanted a real-life comparison.

Currently, mine is actually 0. I installed a new membrane a couple of months ago, so TDS is 3 coming out of the RO membrane, and the DI takes out the rest to bring it down to 0.


melev is offline  
Old 01/06/2008, 11:00 PM   #502
jcpatella
Premium Member
 
jcpatella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 814
On the left-hand side after the carbon filter, you could possibly put a tee - this would give you drinkable water (and also let you test the water before the resin).



__________________
Dogs - Man's best friend; entropy's greatest catalyst.

Current Tank Info: Biocube 8 on the way!
jcpatella is offline  
Old 01/06/2008, 11:13 PM   #503
NanoGurl
Moved On
 
NanoGurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Posts: 4,306
Quote:
Originally posted by melev
If you had a Tee in the line after the RO membrane and before the DI resin, you could let it run for 1 minute into a bucket or nearby sink, then take a sample of that water in your stolen McDonald's cup. Test it for TDS.

We need to know what the number is before the resin to see how well the membrane is working.

Anything under 10 TDS is fine. We like it lower, but compared to what is coming out of the tap, it's great. I change my filters out if it reaches 7, if you wanted a real-life comparison.

Currently, mine is actually 0. I installed a new membrane a couple of months ago, so TDS is 3 coming out of the RO membrane, and the DI takes out the rest to bring it down to 0.
See... you're bragging.

Okay, that makes me feel better that it's under 7. Thanks for the info that helps a lot. I will see what I can do to get a reading tomorrow.


NanoGurl is offline  
Old 01/06/2008, 11:14 PM   #504
NanoGurl
Moved On
 
NanoGurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Posts: 4,306
Quote:
Originally posted by jcpatella
On the left-hand side after the carbon filter, you could possibly put a tee - this would give you drinkable water (and also let you test the water before the resin).
I only drink Deer Park water =)

Thanks, I'll look to see if I can get clown to do that. I have no idea how to make a T.


NanoGurl is offline  
Old 01/06/2008, 11:17 PM   #505
jcpatella
Premium Member
 
jcpatella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 814
Quote:
Originally posted by NanoGurl
I only drink Deer Park water =)

Thanks, I'll look to see if I can get clown to do that. I have no idea how to make a T.
Are you one of those!!!!???? What do you do when you go on vacation!!!!


__________________
Dogs - Man's best friend; entropy's greatest catalyst.

Current Tank Info: Biocube 8 on the way!
jcpatella is offline  
Old 01/07/2008, 01:38 AM   #506
melev
Moved On
 
melev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Ft Worth, Tx
Posts: 43,217
Quote:
Originally posted by NanoGurl
I only drink Deer Park water =)

Thanks, I'll look to see if I can get clown to do that. I have no idea how to make a T.
This is how mine is done. The fitting in the center of the picture is called a Tee.



The left side is my RO system, the right side is the stand alone DI section. The tubing going down from the Tee goes to a ballvalve.

I use that ballvalve to collect one gallon of RO water at a time, which I then use to fill up a bunch of clean empty 20 oz bottles. Those bottles are stored in the fridge for when we want it later.


melev is offline  
Old 01/07/2008, 08:00 AM   #507
Cuby2k
Cuby2k
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 982
Quote:
Originally posted by NanoGurl
Is that the membrane thing?
yeah, you have to take apart the white tube on top of your filter setup.

I gotta tell you though, that 2 ppm doesn't seem too bad. I was reading around 50 ppm before I changed my filters including DI and it dropped to about 10 and soon crept back to the 40's. After I replaced the RO membrane it dropped to 0 where it is "resting" right now.


__________________
Rod "Cuby"

Current Tank Info: 180 display, 100 gal DIY fuge/sump, DIY skimmer.
Cuby2k is offline  
Old 01/07/2008, 08:29 AM   #508
NanoGurl
Moved On
 
NanoGurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Posts: 4,306
Quote:
Originally posted by jcpatella
Are you one of those!!!!???? What do you do when you go on vacation!!!!
Well since it's been six years since I went on vacation I don't even remember!


NanoGurl is offline  
Old 01/07/2008, 08:30 AM   #509
NanoGurl
Moved On
 
NanoGurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Posts: 4,306
Quote:
Originally posted by melev
This is how mine is done. The fitting in the center of the picture is called a Tee.



The left side is my RO system, the right side is the stand alone DI section. The tubing going down from the Tee goes to a ballvalve.

I use that ballvalve to collect one gallon of RO water at a time, which I then use to fill up a bunch of clean empty 20 oz bottles. Those bottles are stored in the fridge for when we want it later.
Thanks, that photo helps. That looks pretty easy to do. Where can you get the T? Home Depot?


NanoGurl is offline  
Old 01/07/2008, 08:31 AM   #510
NanoGurl
Moved On
 
NanoGurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Posts: 4,306
Quote:
Originally posted by Cuby2k
yeah, you have to take apart the white tube on top of your filter setup.

I gotta tell you though, that 2 ppm doesn't seem too bad. I was reading around 50 ppm before I changed my filters including DI and it dropped to about 10 and soon crept back to the 40's. After I replaced the RO membrane it dropped to 0 where it is "resting" right now.
Oh wow.. okay kewl... I thought it had to be 0 before. I guess I should be happy with 2 (:

Thanks!


NanoGurl is offline  
Old 01/07/2008, 08:41 AM   #511
GSMguy
Registered Member
 
GSMguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 17,420
Quote:
Originally posted by NanoGurl
Is that the membrane thing?
yep replace you membrane and carbon filters and your DI resin will not have to do soo much work and will last longer.


GSMguy is offline  
Old 01/07/2008, 08:42 AM   #512
NanoGurl
Moved On
 
NanoGurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Posts: 4,306
Yea i just replaced the carbon filters a few months ago.. but I don't think I've ever replaced the membrane thing.


NanoGurl is offline  
Old 01/07/2008, 10:06 AM   #513
DrBDC
Registered Member
 
DrBDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ballwin, Missouri
Posts: 10,358
I do the "T" on my RO output also before it goes to my DI. That line is run to my refrigerator for the ice and water.

You should get your DI output to 0. You need to dump that horizontal DI cartridge and get a vertical one. You can get those from a couple sponsors on here. I don't remember whether I bought from those filter guys or buckeye but it was about 35 bucks if I remember correctly. Melev probably has a hook up on them, I know he has the full units available (or he used to on his web site).


__________________
Some drink at the fountain of knowledge, some just gargle, but most are rabid.

Current Tank Info: 180g sps+75 softy/lps on one system tunze's, seio's, mjmods, aquacontroller w/add ons, 2X400 XM10000 and 3X160 vho actinic, 110g sump, 110 frag tank, Geo Beckett and other stuff
DrBDC is offline  
Old 01/07/2008, 11:02 AM   #514
bohlke
PBITAWA
 
bohlke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: at the super sweet NRC lounge
Posts: 1,253
I was thinking the same thing about the DI container, do you have the resin that changes color when its spent? Mine goes from blue to that brownish color, when its completely brown I change it but it seems to change color vertically. Typically my input to the DI is between 1-5ppm.

I run a T between my RO and DI, it goes to a 3G storage tank under the sink for drinking water.


__________________
There is a very fine line between a hobby and mental illness. ... (Dave Barry)

Check out my reef tank upgrade project by clicking on the red house.

Current Tank Info: 120G mixed reef
bohlke is offline  
Old 01/07/2008, 11:25 AM   #515
conorwynne
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 433
The membrane is the most expensive part! DI resin is way cheaper, at least over here in Ireland.

I would not change the membrane without checking the TDS alue as all here have suggested. Waste of money!

Regards
Conor.


__________________
New tank (468L or 120G) has salt and rock, just add coral and fish!

Current Tank Info: New tank in progress....
conorwynne is offline  
Old 01/07/2008, 12:59 PM   #516
melev
Moved On
 
melev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Ft Worth, Tx
Posts: 43,217
Quote:
Originally posted by NanoGurl
Thanks, that photo helps. That looks pretty easy to do. Where can you get the T? Home Depot?
Yes, they are sold as SpeedFit fittings. Another name is John Guest fittings.

The nice thing about them is that you just cut the tubing and press it into the ends, tug slightly and you're done. The blue retaining clips pictured above make sure the tubing stays in place. Home Depot also sells 1/4" icemaker tubing in the same section.

Remove the retaining clip if you have it, then make sure the tubing is cut nice and cleanly (a kitchen knife will do it, or a utility knife), then press it into the collet firmly until it can't go in any further. Tug slightly to seat it. Done.

If you have to remove the tubing, press the collet with your fingernail so that it is tight against the fitting, and the tubing can be pulled out again. The collet is the thing that grips and releases.


melev is offline  
Old 01/07/2008, 04:46 PM   #517
bower23
Registered Member
 
bower23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Greenville, Pa
Posts: 411
I just bought a new RO/DI unit and I also bought an electronic tester. It has an input line and output line. Which you could put the input line before the unit or before the membrane. It's pretty cheap and is so easy. Turn it on and read it. I'll see if I can get a line for ya. Plus, I've always been told if you replace the membrane, replace the other filters at the same time. If not, the membrane will get dirty alot faster without the new filters in front of it.

http://cgi.ebay.com/DM-1-Inline-Dual...sid=p1638.m118


bower23 is offline  
Old 01/07/2008, 06:51 PM   #518
NanoGurl
Moved On
 
NanoGurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Posts: 4,306
Quote:
Originally posted by DrBDC
You need to dump that horizontal DI cartridge and get a vertical one.
Why? What is the difference?


NanoGurl is offline  
Old 01/07/2008, 06:52 PM   #519
NanoGurl
Moved On
 
NanoGurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Posts: 4,306
Quote:
Originally posted by bohlke
I was thinking the same thing about the DI container, do you have the resin that changes color when its spent?
Yea, it's green when it's good and turns to brown/orange when it's spent. It seems to work it's way from the top to bottom as well.

I guess that's why you want a vertical one?


NanoGurl is offline  
Old 01/07/2008, 06:53 PM   #520
NanoGurl
Moved On
 
NanoGurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Posts: 4,306
Quote:
Originally posted by conorwynne
The membrane is the most expensive part! DI resin is way cheaper, at least over here in Ireland.

I would not change the membrane without checking the TDS alue as all here have suggested. Waste of money!

Regards
Conor.
I will try to test it later and see. Thanks!


NanoGurl is offline  
Old 01/07/2008, 06:56 PM   #521
Aquabucket
Premium Member
 
Aquabucket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Green Bay, Wi.
Posts: 4,455
Quote:
Originally posted by NanoGurl
Why? What is the difference?
You could always try to mount yours vertically. This helps prevent channeling and increases efficiency.


__________________
"Just a drop in the bucket"
Aquabucket is offline  
Old 01/07/2008, 07:01 PM   #522
NanoGurl
Moved On
 
NanoGurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Posts: 4,306
Quote:
Originally posted by melev
Yes, they are sold as SpeedFit fittings. Another name is John Guest fittings.

The nice thing about them is that you just cut the tubing and press it into the ends, tug slightly and you're done. The blue retaining clips pictured above make sure the tubing stays in place. Home Depot also sells 1/4" icemaker tubing in the same section.

Remove the retaining clip if you have it, then make sure the tubing is cut nice and cleanly (a kitchen knife will do it, or a utility knife), then press it into the collet firmly until it can't go in any further. Tug slightly to seat it. Done.

If you have to remove the tubing, press the collet with your fingernail so that it is tight against the fitting, and the tubing can be pulled out again. The collet is the thing that grips and releases.
Okay thanks! That really helps. I never set up the RO/DI unit when we got it so I don't know a lot about it. I have to goto HD tomorrow anyway I will look and see what they got.


NanoGurl is offline  
Old 01/07/2008, 07:04 PM   #523
NanoGurl
Moved On
 
NanoGurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Posts: 4,306
Quote:
Originally posted by bower23
I just bought a new RO/DI unit and I also bought an electronic tester. It has an input line and output line. Which you could put the input line before the unit or before the membrane. It's pretty cheap and is so easy. Turn it on and read it. I'll see if I can get a line for ya. Plus, I've always been told if you replace the membrane, replace the other filters at the same time. If not, the membrane will get dirty alot faster without the new filters in front of it.

http://cgi.ebay.com/DM-1-Inline-Dual...sid=p1638.m118
Thanks for the link, that's pretty interesting!


NanoGurl is offline  
Old 01/07/2008, 07:05 PM   #524
NanoGurl
Moved On
 
NanoGurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Posts: 4,306
Quote:
Originally posted by Aquabucket
You could always try to mount yours vertically. This helps prevent channeling and increases efficiency.
Whats channeling?


NanoGurl is offline  
Old 01/07/2008, 07:14 PM   #525
bower23
Registered Member
 
bower23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Greenville, Pa
Posts: 411
that is when the water finds a certain 'path' through the resin which leaves parts unused... mount it vertically and it has to fill up around all of it... hard to explain


bower23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:53 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.