Reef Central Online Community
Neptune Systems

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 12/13/2007, 09:43 AM   #1
luvnpc69
Registered Member
 
luvnpc69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: illinois, usa
Posts: 67
zoanthids

how long must i wait before i am safe introducing zoanthids into my new tank? what conditions am i looking for?


__________________
je est un autre

Current Tank Info: 55 gallon reef, 100 lbs lr, 55 lbs ls, small fuge, power compact with actinic, sump filter with skimmer; 10 gallon mantis tank, 15 lb lr, 20 lb ls, power compact with actinic
luvnpc69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/13/2007, 10:02 AM   #2
Blown 346
Registered Member
 
Blown 346's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rockford, Illinois
Posts: 6,596
What are your water parameters as of today? How long has the tank been set up?

Normally you would want to wait about a week after the tank has no Nitrites,Ammonia, littel to no Nitrates, and the PH is stabile between 8.4 and 8.6


Blown 346 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/13/2007, 10:03 AM   #3
NirvanaFan
Reef Ninja
 
NirvanaFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,280
They're pretty hardy. Personally, I would wait a couple weeks after your cycle is complete. Just so you make sure that everything is stable. Once you start getting a couple, you're gonna get bit by the zoa bug and want alot more


NirvanaFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/13/2007, 10:05 AM   #4
Drew Reed
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bear lake, MI
Posts: 252
How long has your tank been set up?

Zoanthids generally are quite hardy, and in my opinion are a great starter coral. If your tank has cycled(Ammonia 0, Nitrite 0, and Nitrate 10 or below, and ph is stable) then you will be fine adding some.



Last edited by Drew Reed; 12/13/2007 at 11:02 AM.
Drew Reed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/13/2007, 10:05 AM   #5
papagimp
COMAS Rocks!
 
papagimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 8,185
Blog Entries: 2
You want the tank to be completely cycled (ammonia and nitrite levels have already spiked and dropped to zero again) you want nitrate levels low, preferably zero but at most keep em under 20ppm (some species will consider this too high and not do as well, even some zoo's, different zoo's, different natural enviroments) Wanna make sure the lighting is sufficient (what type of lighting you got going? how many/what wattage PC's?)
and sufficient flow. And naturally you'll want over all water quality stable and corret. Typical Ph values, Alkalinity, ect. ect.

Basically in a nutshell, the tank needs to be cycled. Zoo's are fairly hardy for the most part and tend to do well in sub-optimal conditions (some will anyways) and IME make a decent beginner coral.

What conditions are you seeing in your tank currently?


__________________
58g Softie & 75g Stoney


Member, Central Oklahoma Marine Aquarium Society

Current Tank Info: 58g Mixed Reef Project - Started June 2011
papagimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/13/2007, 10:12 AM   #6
luvnpc69
Registered Member
 
luvnpc69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: illinois, usa
Posts: 67
i am at ph 8.2... 0 ammonia...0.25 nitrite (never had a spike, have been here for a month)....15 nitrate....9 dKH...tank has been set up for 5 weeks...added liverock, cycled, added more rock, cycled again a few days ago....


__________________
je est un autre

Current Tank Info: 55 gallon reef, 100 lbs lr, 55 lbs ls, small fuge, power compact with actinic, sump filter with skimmer; 10 gallon mantis tank, 15 lb lr, 20 lb ls, power compact with actinic
luvnpc69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/13/2007, 10:14 AM   #7
Blown 346
Registered Member
 
Blown 346's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rockford, Illinois
Posts: 6,596
The cycle isnt over yet, not until the Nitrite hits zero.


Blown 346 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/13/2007, 10:15 AM   #8
papagimp
COMAS Rocks!
 
papagimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 8,185
Blog Entries: 2
I wouldn't add anything with nitrite showing up at all, that's an indication of the tank not being cycled or recent ammonia/bioload being added beyond what the tanks filtering capacity can handle. . Probably due to the added rock after the initial cycle. Uncured rock or live rock with excessive die off can/will cause more ammoina and nitrite spikes.

May also wanna get a second opinion on the test if it keeps showing up. Some test kits are highly inaccurate.


__________________
58g Softie & 75g Stoney


Member, Central Oklahoma Marine Aquarium Society

Current Tank Info: 58g Mixed Reef Project - Started June 2011
papagimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:36 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.