Reef Central Online Community
Tunze USA

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 12/16/2006, 09:06 PM   #1
abarrera
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Tennessee
Posts: 135
29 gal overflow question

OK...I'm setting up a 29 gallon fowlr and some zoas, maby a few corals one day. I'm wondering how large an overflow I'll need. I'm going to DIY it; glass shop near house will cut what I need just don't know what size to make it. I'm going to have two 2" drains leading to a 20 long as a refuge/sump. I would like to set this thing up with enough return gph so I don't have to use powerheads if possible. any suggestions on return pump would be great.

Thanks for any and all help/advise.

Antonio


abarrera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/16/2006, 09:16 PM   #2
staticx
Moved On
 
staticx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: oregon
Posts: 825
well you need to calculate how many gph two 2 inch drains will do and then your return pump should equal somehwere close to that. I am cofused about your other question. Do you mean how large a overflow box you will need ?? there is a calcualtor on the home page that will help you calculate two 2 inch drains


staticx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/16/2006, 09:27 PM   #3
abarrera
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Tennessee
Posts: 135
Yes, how large. but I will use the calc thanks.


abarrera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/16/2006, 09:33 PM   #4
MR PALM BEACH
Registered Member
 
MR PALM BEACH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Jupiter, Fl
Posts: 802
I have 29G and I have a HOB overflow(1 drain outlet) with and DIY 10g W/D followed by an rio 3100 return-big mistake very noise. Befor I changed the filtration I had an hob penquine 200 bio wheel and a M/J 1200. Now i found between the rio's output and the m/j 1200 is was a little bit too much flow. But i put a spare m/j 900 inline with the output current and everything is going smooth. Im still in the monitering stages since i just did this a couple of days ago, i might put the 1200 back in. O and to answer you ? a RIO 3100 is not enough flow to go without any powerheads added.


__________________
And I thought buying an puppy would be to expensive!

Current Tank Info: 23" LCD with Windows Aquarium screen saver.
MR PALM BEACH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/16/2006, 09:36 PM   #5
abarrera
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Tennessee
Posts: 135
It asked how many gph and I'm confused on what the standard is 20x gal of tank?


abarrera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/16/2006, 09:40 PM   #6
MR PALM BEACH
Registered Member
 
MR PALM BEACH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Jupiter, Fl
Posts: 802
20G LONG 30x12x12 This is what you want.
20G TALL 20x10x24


__________________
And I thought buying an puppy would be to expensive!

Current Tank Info: 23" LCD with Windows Aquarium screen saver.
MR PALM BEACH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/16/2006, 09:41 PM   #7
abarrera
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Tennessee
Posts: 135
what made the rio 3100 to loud? and what size returns/how many? should I put them through the glass or over


abarrera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/16/2006, 09:43 PM   #8
abarrera
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Tennessee
Posts: 135
so to get the gph I need I multiply 30x12x12? or the size of the display tank(a 29gal 30x12x18)?


abarrera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/16/2006, 09:49 PM   #9
MR PALM BEACH
Registered Member
 
MR PALM BEACH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Jupiter, Fl
Posts: 802
just the amount of vibration it gives off sitting in the tank itself. Now i dont have any cabinetry underneath my tank so i here a lot more than you would if it was enclosed. I have 3/4 pvc coming down from overflow, then its 1/2 pvc from the return pump. Its your opinion on the through the glass or over, Mine is over the glass. I can try to get some pics if you want.


__________________
And I thought buying an puppy would be to expensive!

Current Tank Info: 23" LCD with Windows Aquarium screen saver.
MR PALM BEACH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/16/2006, 09:54 PM   #10
abarrera
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Tennessee
Posts: 135
pics would be sweet!!! I think I would rather do the over cause less drilling = less stress...LOL


abarrera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/16/2006, 10:20 PM   #11
MR PALM BEACH
Registered Member
 
MR PALM BEACH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Jupiter, Fl
Posts: 802














__________________
And I thought buying an puppy would be to expensive!

Current Tank Info: 23" LCD with Windows Aquarium screen saver.
MR PALM BEACH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/16/2006, 10:29 PM   #12
MR PALM BEACH
Registered Member
 
MR PALM BEACH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Jupiter, Fl
Posts: 802



__________________
And I thought buying an puppy would be to expensive!

Current Tank Info: 23" LCD with Windows Aquarium screen saver.
MR PALM BEACH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/16/2006, 10:32 PM   #13
MR PALM BEACH
Registered Member
 
MR PALM BEACH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Jupiter, Fl
Posts: 802
I will getting an 20g real soon to replace the 10 do to lack of space as you can see. Hope the pics help.


__________________
And I thought buying an puppy would be to expensive!

Current Tank Info: 23" LCD with Windows Aquarium screen saver.
MR PALM BEACH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/16/2006, 10:39 PM   #14
abarrera
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Tennessee
Posts: 135
Thanks


abarrera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/17/2006, 01:56 AM   #15
staticx
Moved On
 
staticx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: oregon
Posts: 825
Okay so one 2 inch drain running at max capacity will give you roughly 2350 gph so two of them will give you 4700 gph at max capacity. so if you did those drains you would need a pump that is about 4000gph or so. since you dont want to use power heads you could split the return pipe then get a scwd to switch it from left to right. you could even do two spray bars.


staticx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/17/2006, 09:41 PM   #16
abarrera
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Tennessee
Posts: 135
So I think I've decided to go with two 1.5"(or would one inch be sufficant?) drains leading to a 2" "Y" single drain to my sump. still unsure of the pump to use as a return but my return will hopefully be two 8" spray bars on each side and if I can figure out the plumbing two lock Tight returns on either side of the overflow as constant return with an scwd to switch between spray bars only(if possible). I'm still having trouble finding out what dimensions I'll need to make my overflow but I'm thinking it'll be 2.5" out from back wall 8" across with .25" teeth spaced .50 on center; all three sides. Just worried the dimensions will be to one extreme or the other. any advise on that would be great.


abarrera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/17/2006, 09:48 PM   #17
aquarius77
Moved On
 
aquarius77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Highland, Il
Posts: 2,198
Look at some commercial overflows and their rated GPH and get the dimensions and make something similar size and same drain size and you will be good to go.

Here is a link that gives you exact dimensions of one companys overflows, it should come in real handy in deciding on how to make your DIY overflow.

http://www.marinedepot.com/aquarium_...pr.asp?CartId=

HTH


aquarius77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:38 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.