Reef Central Online Community
Live Aquaria

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 01/09/2008, 12:52 PM   #1
Jester
Registered Member
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Va Beach, Va....
Posts: 795
Electrical panel..?? DJ controllers..??

I've been looking around trying to find a better solution than using standard surge protectors for all my equipment... I also like the idea of being able to switch everything on and off without haveing to dig around and yank a cord out, only to find out I unplugged the wrong thing... I've seen that people have been using dj light controller/power stations... Does anyone recommend a specific one..?? have any pics of them installed and wired..?? Thanks in advance..

Jester


__________________
click my "little red house" for my 29gallon SPS tank build...

30 gallon breeder prop tank build started... soon to be added to my build above...

Current Tank Info: 29 gallon drilled and plumbed thru-wall, Custom 10 gallon sump/fuge, Gen-X 4100 return, 2 Tunze Nanostream 6025s, AquaEuro Recirc 135 skimmer, 150watt HQI 14K Pheonix MH w/ 2x55watt PC lighting, lebos Lunar lights, 45#s live Rock, 20#s live sand...
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/09/2008, 02:57 PM   #2
steelerguy
Registered Member
 
steelerguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 263
I used an American DJ power controller. It came with one outlet that has to be jiggled around to work and one of the LEDs in another switch flickers. Perhaps I was unlucky, but I would try a different brand. It was like $20 though so perhaps I should not have been so cheap.

I would never NOT use one though. It is just way too convenient when I want the pumps off for feeding or the lights off while I acclimate.

I went with the easy install of it just set back and mounted on the side of the tank. Since that side of the tank is a few inches away from a wall you can't really see it there and it is easy to get to.


steelerguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/09/2008, 04:35 PM   #3
eznet2u
Registered Member
 
eznet2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,135
This is what I did... Nothing fancy...But it works.





I am in the process of building another one that uses all X10 controlled outlets.


eznet2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/09/2008, 04:54 PM   #4
el Deutche
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 134
Try these links. they are from a member Melev. His site is full of information and he could answer probably any question you have if you email him. The second link is where he upgraded his system. Hope this helps

http://www.melevsreef.com/power_panel.html

http://www.melevsreef.com/power_system.html


__________________
Those who would sacrifice Liberty for Security deserve neither. - Benjamin Franklin

Current Tank Info: 180gal
el Deutche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/09/2008, 06:12 PM   #5
Jester
Registered Member
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Va Beach, Va....
Posts: 795
Awesome help everyone...!!!!! I appreciate it... I searched for a few hours and couldnt find this amount of good information in one spot...


__________________
click my "little red house" for my 29gallon SPS tank build...

30 gallon breeder prop tank build started... soon to be added to my build above...

Current Tank Info: 29 gallon drilled and plumbed thru-wall, Custom 10 gallon sump/fuge, Gen-X 4100 return, 2 Tunze Nanostream 6025s, AquaEuro Recirc 135 skimmer, 150watt HQI 14K Pheonix MH w/ 2x55watt PC lighting, lebos Lunar lights, 45#s live Rock, 20#s live sand...
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/09/2008, 07:31 PM   #6
RWillieK
Registered Member
 
RWillieK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Posts: 594
I have had an American DJ running for probably a year without an issue.


__________________
Five out of Four People have Trouble with Fractions.

Current Tank Info: 90 gallon display, 40 gallon sump, 20 Gallon Fuge, AquaController Jr w/ Serial upgrade, Velocity T2 Return, Modified ASM G2 Skimmer, 2 x 150w 14K MH, Coralife Ca Reactor, DIY Kalk Reactor
RWillieK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/09/2008, 07:44 PM   #7
Jester
Registered Member
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Va Beach, Va....
Posts: 795
I have a guitar center on my was to work... so tomorrow i'm going to go by and see what I can come up with... they are showing them on there website, so I hope that means they have them in the store... I need one for under the tank and another for the sump room... it'll be great to not have to unplug the pumps whenever I need to cut something off...


__________________
click my "little red house" for my 29gallon SPS tank build...

30 gallon breeder prop tank build started... soon to be added to my build above...

Current Tank Info: 29 gallon drilled and plumbed thru-wall, Custom 10 gallon sump/fuge, Gen-X 4100 return, 2 Tunze Nanostream 6025s, AquaEuro Recirc 135 skimmer, 150watt HQI 14K Pheonix MH w/ 2x55watt PC lighting, lebos Lunar lights, 45#s live Rock, 20#s live sand...
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/09/2008, 08:47 PM   #8
dela
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: St Louis
Posts: 1,526
I use X10 modules and just control everything with the remote control. That way things can just be plugged in wherever. The only draw back is that every once in a while the system has issues. Like right now my remote seems to have died.

Otherwise it works exceedingly well. Especially since I've got stuff on multiple levels of the house.


dela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/10/2008, 03:24 AM   #9
RWillieK
Registered Member
 
RWillieK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Posts: 594
Another option would be an Aqua Controller Jr......its a little more expensive, but it will control up to 12 items, and acts as a temp and pH monitor.


__________________
Five out of Four People have Trouble with Fractions.

Current Tank Info: 90 gallon display, 40 gallon sump, 20 Gallon Fuge, AquaController Jr w/ Serial upgrade, Velocity T2 Return, Modified ASM G2 Skimmer, 2 x 150w 14K MH, Coralife Ca Reactor, DIY Kalk Reactor
RWillieK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/10/2008, 06:40 AM   #10
Jester
Registered Member
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Va Beach, Va....
Posts: 795
Quote:
Originally posted by RWillieK
Another option would be an Aqua Controller Jr......its a little more expensive, but it will control up to 12 items, and acts as a temp and pH monitor.
A controller is definitely on my list of upgrades in the future... we'll see when though... =)


__________________
click my "little red house" for my 29gallon SPS tank build...

30 gallon breeder prop tank build started... soon to be added to my build above...

Current Tank Info: 29 gallon drilled and plumbed thru-wall, Custom 10 gallon sump/fuge, Gen-X 4100 return, 2 Tunze Nanostream 6025s, AquaEuro Recirc 135 skimmer, 150watt HQI 14K Pheonix MH w/ 2x55watt PC lighting, lebos Lunar lights, 45#s live Rock, 20#s live sand...
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/10/2008, 08:25 AM   #11
bad santa
SCRK member
 
bad santa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Whittier, CA
Posts: 1,444
If you go the electrical panel route after you add up all $ spent on outlets,boxes,wires, etc. you could have easily bought a controller.IMO


__________________
Ed

"Get Busy Living Or Get Busy Dying"
"Were discussing man,...you have your wrong opinion i have my right one. Its called communication." Mac Inger

Current Tank Info: working on establishing a 32 Gal. Nano-Cube
bad santa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/10/2008, 08:28 AM   #12
Jester
Registered Member
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Va Beach, Va....
Posts: 795
Quote:
Originally posted by bad santa
If you go the electrical panel route after you add up all $ spent on outlets,boxes,wires, etc. you could have easily bought a controller.IMO
I dont think I'm going to build the entire power panel... I just want an individually switched power strip, which I think is what this DJ controller is... I will definitely look into the reef controllers before I drop $200 of wiring and boxes... heheheeee


__________________
click my "little red house" for my 29gallon SPS tank build...

30 gallon breeder prop tank build started... soon to be added to my build above...

Current Tank Info: 29 gallon drilled and plumbed thru-wall, Custom 10 gallon sump/fuge, Gen-X 4100 return, 2 Tunze Nanostream 6025s, AquaEuro Recirc 135 skimmer, 150watt HQI 14K Pheonix MH w/ 2x55watt PC lighting, lebos Lunar lights, 45#s live Rock, 20#s live sand...
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/10/2008, 09:48 AM   #13
driftin
Registered Member
 
driftin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,247
How close together are the outlets on the back of a power center? Would I be able to plug something wide into it, like a timer or a 12VDC power adapter?


__________________
-Jim

Current Tank Info: 70 gal custom room divider
driftin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/10/2008, 09:51 AM   #14
Jester
Registered Member
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Va Beach, Va....
Posts: 795
Quote:
Originally posted by driftin
How close together are the outlets on the back of a power center? Would I be able to plug something wide into it, like a timer or a 12VDC power adapter?
During my recent research I jsut came across this thread.. somewhere near the middle of the first page you get a good shot of the outlets on the back...

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/sh...hreadid=765280


__________________
click my "little red house" for my 29gallon SPS tank build...

30 gallon breeder prop tank build started... soon to be added to my build above...

Current Tank Info: 29 gallon drilled and plumbed thru-wall, Custom 10 gallon sump/fuge, Gen-X 4100 return, 2 Tunze Nanostream 6025s, AquaEuro Recirc 135 skimmer, 150watt HQI 14K Pheonix MH w/ 2x55watt PC lighting, lebos Lunar lights, 45#s live Rock, 20#s live sand...
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/10/2008, 09:55 AM   #15
Donw
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,334
Quote:
Originally posted by driftin
How close together are the outlets on the back of a power center? Would I be able to plug something wide into it, like a timer or a 12VDC power adapter?
Yes timers will fit. What is a drag about them is you have to bring all your cords to the switches. Ive got a dvd somewhere that I'll try to find tonight that I made to show how to make a remote switch panel using only safe low voltage and the power strip in my gallery. Its cheap and all relay controlled.

Don


Donw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/10/2008, 02:40 PM   #16
xtm
Registered Member
 
xtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Panorama City, CA
Posts: 4,698
I am using an American DJ strip in addition to my RK2 controller. The RK2 only controls 8 devices and I found out that it wasn't enough..


__________________
Function before fashion

Current Tank Info: 120g SPS Tank (48x24x24)
xtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/10/2008, 04:58 PM   #17
eznet2u
Registered Member
 
eznet2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,135
I have the DJ power strip and a controller. The modules for the controller would NOT fit
without covering 2 other outlets. That is why I made the box. The controller modules STILL
take up too much real estate, so I am building another one with the X10 outlet modules to
add to this one.


eznet2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/10/2008, 06:59 PM   #18
RWillieK
Registered Member
 
RWillieK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Posts: 594
I also run an controller and American DJ box......things that stay on constantly are on the switch box...only items switched on off daily go on the controller.

Robbie


__________________
Five out of Four People have Trouble with Fractions.

Current Tank Info: 90 gallon display, 40 gallon sump, 20 Gallon Fuge, AquaController Jr w/ Serial upgrade, Velocity T2 Return, Modified ASM G2 Skimmer, 2 x 150w 14K MH, Coralife Ca Reactor, DIY Kalk Reactor
RWillieK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/10/2008, 08:08 PM   #19
Avast Marine
RC Sponsor
 
Avast Marine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,446
click my red house, half way down page 5 and top of page 6.


__________________
Dan

Don't rush art, you get bad art.
Avast Marine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/11/2008, 06:21 AM   #20
Jester
Registered Member
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Va Beach, Va....
Posts: 795
Quote:
Originally posted by dandy7200
click my red house, half way down page 5 and top of page 6.
I'll have to go back read the whole thread, but that looked like an intense project...

I also stopped by the local guitar center and picked these up...!!!






__________________
click my "little red house" for my 29gallon SPS tank build...

30 gallon breeder prop tank build started... soon to be added to my build above...

Current Tank Info: 29 gallon drilled and plumbed thru-wall, Custom 10 gallon sump/fuge, Gen-X 4100 return, 2 Tunze Nanostream 6025s, AquaEuro Recirc 135 skimmer, 150watt HQI 14K Pheonix MH w/ 2x55watt PC lighting, lebos Lunar lights, 45#s live Rock, 20#s live sand...
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/11/2008, 07:29 AM   #21
amwd
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
Jester, what's the cost of 1 of those power centers?
I'm in need of a center myself...


amwd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/11/2008, 07:32 AM   #22
Jester
Registered Member
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Va Beach, Va....
Posts: 795
Quote:
Originally posted by amwd
Jester, what's the cost of 1 of those power centers?
I'm in need of a center myself...
I paid about $28 each... not too bad... you can find them online cheaper, but after shipping and waiting, its worth it to me to pay a little more to get them locally...


__________________
click my "little red house" for my 29gallon SPS tank build...

30 gallon breeder prop tank build started... soon to be added to my build above...

Current Tank Info: 29 gallon drilled and plumbed thru-wall, Custom 10 gallon sump/fuge, Gen-X 4100 return, 2 Tunze Nanostream 6025s, AquaEuro Recirc 135 skimmer, 150watt HQI 14K Pheonix MH w/ 2x55watt PC lighting, lebos Lunar lights, 45#s live Rock, 20#s live sand...
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/11/2008, 01:11 PM   #23
amwd
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
that's cheaper than buying all the electrical and doing it yourself. all the electrical boxes, plugs and switches would exceed that amount.


amwd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/11/2008, 02:21 PM   #24
Red Sea Purple Tang
Registered Member
 
Red Sea Purple Tang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,878
I have the Chauvet stips with the blue lighted switches. After 6 months, most of the lights burned out. Granted they were only $20 each, but that still sucks.




__________________
E Malama O Ke Kai
><))))">
60g Deep Blue Professional Rimless Cube (24x24x24)
Trigger Systems Ruby 36S sump; 2-Vortech MP10wes; Reef Octopus 6 skimmer; Radion LED Fixture; Apex Controller.
Red Sea Purple Tang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:09 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.