Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 01/11/2008, 12:02 PM   #1
jimbo78
Registered Member
 
jimbo78's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: miami
Posts: 3,096
Exclamation going to re-aquascape have a question

planing on reaquascapeing my tank since i dont quite like the way my LR is setup. i was wondering if i should set up my QT tank to put my softies and shrooms in in case i stir up the sand bed a little. i think the fish should be fine but i can put them in the QT also i ya'll think i should. i'm also planning on doing about a 35% water change while doing it just to help remove anything that might get stired up while moving the LR around.

any advice would be great.

thanks,
jim


__________________
Dive with sharks? Doesn't everyone.

Current Tank Info: 60 cube
jimbo78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/11/2008, 12:05 PM   #2
dileggi
Premium Member
 
dileggi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: S. Philly PA
Posts: 1,171
If it's possible to QT everything, it certainly can't hurt to do so. If it were me, I would play it safe and do that just in case something (amonia) or whatever when you do it.

Water change and amquel would help too!


__________________
Eric


"The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled, was convincing the world he didn't exist." - Usual Suspects

Current Tank Info: 90g w/30g sump; skimmer; 2x175w MH & 2x super white actinic...3g w/.5g fuge 1x150w MH Viper
dileggi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/11/2008, 12:05 PM   #3
Ismellikefish
Registered Member
 
Ismellikefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 271
Someone with more years under there belt might have more umph than I do on this, but I have redone my rocks a few times and never had an issue. I did stick some in my sump but that was just for more space up top while I was working.

You may get a small algea bloom after due to stirred up diatoms but that should be about it.


Ismellikefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/11/2008, 12:08 PM   #4
Ismellikefish
Registered Member
 
Ismellikefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 271
Correct me if I am wrong dileggi, but you shouldn't have ammonia sitting in your tank like that. If you did you would notice some issues without ever moving your rocks around.


Ismellikefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/11/2008, 12:17 PM   #5
oldschooldino
Registered Member
 
oldschooldino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 67
Just curious as to how deep your sand bed is? The last time I did a major re-aquascaping project on my 125, I did put all the fish into a small tank with a heater and airstone, but only because I knew it was going to take a while. All live rock went into two containers. One without water for plain live rock(just wet newspaper on the rock to keep it wet), and one with heater and power head for corals. Again, all of this was so I would have more time to work, rather than worrying about stirring up anything bad. I happen to have a 6" sand bed in my tank, and I do recommend the water change. Mostly because it's a really good time to do it. You will get stuff stirred up, and it will benefit the tank to remove some of that detritus cloud. As soon as I had all my rock and corals in the way I wanted, I put the fish right back in the tank. You may go through a small mini-cycle, but if your live rock is well-aged(good coralline growth,etc) I wouldn't sweat it too much. That being said, this was just my experience. Never hurts to get lots of opinions before making a decision with our precious animals. Good Luck!


__________________
If the Reefs go, can we be far behind?

Current Tank Info: 125 gal reef tank, 4 years old, work in progress(who's tank isn't)?
oldschooldino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/11/2008, 12:24 PM   #6
phenom5
Unregistered Member
 
phenom5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 5,096
I've never removed any live stock when I've re-scaped...never had any problems. I'd re-scape, then do your water change. And have some water made up and ready to go, keep an eye on your levels, and do another water change a few days later.

Just what I've done, take it FWIW. If you have a well established DSB, you may want to QT everything.


__________________
Rob

Current Tank Info: DSA 155 Pro | ATI Sunpower | ATB 840 v2 | Apex | Wav
phenom5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/11/2008, 02:22 PM   #7
jimbo78
Registered Member
 
jimbo78's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: miami
Posts: 3,096
my sand bed is 4-6 inches deep, hopefully i can avoid stiring it up to much. i think i am going to set the other tank up just to be on the safe side. thanks for the help.


__________________
Dive with sharks? Doesn't everyone.

Current Tank Info: 60 cube
jimbo78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/11/2008, 03:25 PM   #8
a1amap
Registered Member
 
a1amap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 1,105
Most fish will move away from you and won't be a problem. If you have something poisonous I would remove it. Any small corals that will fall off or get lost in the new rock work might be better off in the sump or Qt till the rocks are reset. I have lost many a coral to falling down in the new rock work. Aslo you get a chance to place the corals in the best place for them to flourish.


__________________
Al

Current Tank Info: 75 gallon in wall working on a 220 gallon in wall tank
a1amap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:59 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.