Reef Central Online Community
Live Aquaria

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Reef Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 07/11/2021, 11:22 AM   #1
crankbait09
Registered Member
 
crankbait09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 932
routing / securing RO water tubing

For those of you that have their RODI water tubing set up in their UNFINISHED basement. When it comes to routing the tubing to waste drain, or routing from water source to filters......how do you guys secure the lines to the wall?

I have seen some that use wiremold, and others that use the 1/4" fasteners that you screw into the wall. With me drilling into block wall, I don't want to have a bunch of holes just to secure it in place. That's certainly the easiest option. I have also seen tubing brackets sold on BRS. That would make this nice and neat, but would still need to screw a number of holes in the block. I don't think I can get around that. But with the holes being so close to each other, I worry that the block might crumble and my holes wouldn't be clean. Maybe I'm overthinking that, but maybe single hole mounts are best

I'd like to know how you guys have done it.



Last edited by crankbait09; 07/11/2021 at 11:53 AM.
crankbait09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/11/2021, 11:55 AM   #2
billdogg
Registered Member
 
billdogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Grove City, Ohio
Posts: 10,795
The only places I have my tubing fastened to the wall are up on the floor joists. One line runs probably 40' to the refrigerator in the kitchen. I think I used electrical staples and just didn't hammer them all the way in. My waste line goes straight into the utility sink.


__________________
I'll try to be nice if you try to be smarter!
I can't help that I grow older, but you can't make me grow up!

Current Tank Info: 120 mixed reef with 40b sump, RO 150 skimmer, AI Sol Blue x 2, and a 60g Frag Tank with 100g rubbermaid sump. 2 x Kessil A360w lights, BM curve 5 skimmer
billdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/11/2021, 11:59 AM   #3
crankbait09
Registered Member
 
crankbait09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 932
ya, I have the joist run figured out over to the actual water bins

I guess I could do the same, and go up to the joists, then over, and then down to the sink drain. That would allow me to work only with securing to wood joists.

I would also need to do the same with the supply water, since it's at the same location.

I was thinking of the shortest route.



Last edited by crankbait09; 07/11/2021 at 12:07 PM.
crankbait09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/14/2021, 11:18 AM   #4
billdogg
Registered Member
 
billdogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Grove City, Ohio
Posts: 10,795
If possible, I'd avoid routing the waste line uphill to prevent back-pressure from affecting the unit, but it probably doesn't make too much difference. The input line makes no difference at all - it's driven by your incoming line pressure.


__________________
I'll try to be nice if you try to be smarter!
I can't help that I grow older, but you can't make me grow up!

Current Tank Info: 120 mixed reef with 40b sump, RO 150 skimmer, AI Sol Blue x 2, and a 60g Frag Tank with 100g rubbermaid sump. 2 x Kessil A360w lights, BM curve 5 skimmer
billdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/22/2021, 11:18 AM   #5
Pokerman11
Registered Member
 
Pokerman11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North East Ohio
Posts: 221
Go easy - Loews & Home Depot sell 6mm (1/4") cable tie towns that come with a masonry nail.

One smack of the nail - boom - done. For me I use the tie towns with one tube, but then eventually ran three RO lines but just zip tied them all together.

You find them in with the cable TV / networking stuff - not in the general electric section.


Pokerman11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:14 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.