Reef Central Online Community
Marine Depot

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Coral Forums > SPS Keepers
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 12/29/2007, 09:12 AM   #1
whosurcaddie
Registered Member
 
whosurcaddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,354
Do I need this much flow for sps????

I recieved two wireless vortechs for christmas and I have a 120 gallon tank that is progressing into a sps tank. My question is wouldnt one of these pumps be enough for my size tank if im running it at 3000 gph. Because it seems like a big waste of money to have two of these monsters on my tank when I could keep just one and stick a modded maxijet in the other corner running at 1200 gph.


whosurcaddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/29/2007, 09:54 AM   #2
ycnibrc
STAG HORN DOMINATE REEF
 
ycnibrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Irvine, California
Posts: 3,327
if you run pulse or any other mode beside on all the time your gph is not 3000. A mode maxi jet can not pulse and the area cover is not as wide as the vortech.


__________________
SDR STAGHORN DOMINATE REEF
Feature Reef of November 2019
GHL TOTM FEB 2020
ABC corals

Current Tank Info: 360g Peninsula sps
ycnibrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/29/2007, 10:12 AM   #3
fishfiend00s
Moved On
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 114
I have two vortechs in my 120 sps tank . As my sps grow out I will probably need another. To answer your question I think two is sufficient.


fishfiend00s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/29/2007, 07:27 PM   #4
jade2122
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 922
I have three koralia 4's in my 65 they equal 3600 gph and I want to get more flow. SPS LOVE tons of flow, best to make it varying though, wavemaker, etc...


jade2122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/29/2007, 09:38 PM   #5
Kip
Registered Member
 
Kip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dropping 2, hitting 3
Posts: 2,495
caddie... put one on each end of the tank... set one to slave and asynchronous.... you will get good flow back and forth across your reef.

what i do... works pretty well. (actually, i have two on each end of the tank doing what i detailed)


__________________
Sept'06 TOTM
Taking a break from the hobby while we move to a new house.
Kip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:39 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.