Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > More Forums > Reef Club Forums > West Region-Reef Club Forums > Southern California Reefers
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 11/07/2007, 02:21 AM   #1
dUb P. Ham
Registered Member
 
dUb P. Ham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: OC
Posts: 111
Question Electrical Current in my Water!!!! ~HELP~

Hey guys,
I'm going to get that one outlet that has the reset button tomorrow. Too scary. GFCI or something like that rite? How do you think it is that live current is running through my system? It has been fine and all of a sudden i feel a little live current. It doesn't feel strong, but it's still a shock and uneasy. What do you think i should change in my tank? Return pumps, heaters, and powerheads??? Also how do i get rid of the current in the tank? I tried to turn off all of the electrical components and still felt a little shock. Is there a meter that checks? I don't feel like sticking my hands in. What if it just kills me? Let me know guys. Any info and opinions welcomed. THanks.


dUb P. Ham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/07/2007, 04:46 AM   #2
blennyguy
Registered Member
 
blennyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ardmore, Oklahoma
Posts: 37
check out this site, you can pick these up at just about any of your bigger local fish stores or online stores, http://www.marinedepot.com/ps_search...rchText=ground
Good luck
Todd


blennyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/07/2007, 08:19 AM   #3
Bebo77
Premium Nonpaying Member
 
Bebo77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Lost
Posts: 14,377
you have a pump or heater in your tank that is faulty.. you need to find it and remove it...

then get some ground probes and put them in your tank..


__________________
Gabriel

Current Tank Info: 300 Gal Envision Tank(98Lx30Wx26T) 120 Gal SoCalCreations Sump, Deltec TC2560, 2 LumenarcsMini 1 Reg on a light mover W Radiums 250& 400, Gallaxy ballasts, Red Dragon 10m3 return W/ 2 WavySeas, 2 6155 Tunze streams
Bebo77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/07/2007, 08:55 AM   #4
Konadog
Master of the 16 hour day
 
Konadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: East Long Beach, So Cal
Posts: 13,148
Blog Entries: 4
You can figure out what may be causing it by unplugging of one piece of equipment at a time and checking for current. I suggest using a meter and not your hand Installing a GFI is a start for safety, but it won't fix your problem.

You say you turned everything off and still felt current? You missed something or you have a short in a wire that is still in the tank but before your switch. Heaters are a place to start looking. Another place to look is to see if you have a cord(s) wrapped around a return, closed loop, or drain line.


__________________
Save the Reefs................................................................Save the world!

-Ken

Current Tank Info: Currently tankless, and loving it!
Konadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/07/2007, 09:04 AM   #5
Scissorhand
Registered Member
 
Scissorhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pho 54, SoCal
Posts: 3,066
Do they sell a meter that will test to see if there are stray voltage in the water?


Scissorhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/07/2007, 09:09 AM   #6
SteveOhh
Moved On
 
SteveOhh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Whittier, CA
Posts: 3,182
Any electrical meter will work...........................Multimeters that are sold at HD for $15 will work perfectly


SteveOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/07/2007, 09:18 AM   #7
Konadog
Master of the 16 hour day
 
Konadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: East Long Beach, So Cal
Posts: 13,148
Blog Entries: 4
Yep, any multimeter will work, Radio Shack has them cheap too.


__________________
Save the Reefs................................................................Save the world!

-Ken

Current Tank Info: Currently tankless, and loving it!
Konadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/07/2007, 11:27 AM   #8
KWoo008
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lake Balboa, CA
Posts: 2,520
I was at Harbor Freight yesterday picking up a tarp and saw some multi meters on sale (can't remember how much). Just remember to remind yourself as you walk through the store, "you get what you paid for it" as most of the stuff in that place is pretty low quality... but sometimes worth the gamble if you have a small project.


__________________
Kelly
KWoo008 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/07/2007, 01:40 PM   #9
dUb P. Ham
Registered Member
 
dUb P. Ham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: OC
Posts: 111
So how do i go about using the multimeter? Where do i ground it or what not?


dUb P. Ham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/07/2007, 03:24 PM   #10
THE GIMP
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fullerton, California
Posts: 694
Unplug each piece of equipment, don't just turn it off. If you are in an old house the polarity might be reversed.

If you don't know how to use a meter, I would suggest you recruit the aid of someone who does. What city in OC are you?


__________________
AKA: Brando The Electrizian

We're gonna need a bigger boat...
If its not tied up or in a cage, I'll need a stick!
Who is John Galt?

Current Tank Info: 180 BB, ATB med ext, 2 Vortechs, Life Reef CARX, RKE, T5
THE GIMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/07/2007, 03:52 PM   #11
dUb P. Ham
Registered Member
 
dUb P. Ham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: OC
Posts: 111
I'm in garden grove.


dUb P. Ham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/07/2007, 04:56 PM   #12
xtm
Registered Member
 
xtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Panorama City, CA
Posts: 4,698
Unplug each equipment ONE BY ONE... you know.. process of elimination.

If you still feel a shock, check the wiring on your lights. I know one reefer who was using a metal stand for his halide and it wasn't grounded. Non-grounded halide + salt creep + metal stand = buzz.


__________________
Function before fashion

Current Tank Info: 120g SPS Tank (48x24x24)
xtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/07/2007, 06:34 PM   #13
dUb P. Ham
Registered Member
 
dUb P. Ham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: OC
Posts: 111
Well i understand the unplugging one by one but just not understanding how to use the darn multimeter. Does the black plug go into the COM and the red can alternate from volts and ohms rite? And i should use the volts side to check my water rite?


dUb P. Ham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/07/2007, 06:48 PM   #14
SteveOhh
Moved On
 
SteveOhh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Whittier, CA
Posts: 3,182
Use the volt setting & the "red" test probe..................if there is voltage in your tank, the meter should detect it.......


SteveOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/09/2007, 01:29 PM   #15
bustayanky
Registered Member
 
bustayanky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Garden Grove, SoCal
Posts: 1,994
ok i have the same problem. So can i just get the ground probe and stick it in the water and not find the problem? I have a multimeter and still cannot find what is the problem. Do i stick both the black and red wire into the tank?


__________________
225 G 72x30x24 Leemar Mixed Reef, 4 x XR30W Pro Gen 4s, APEX, 2 x Tunze 6105s, 2 x 1" sea swirls on Fluval SP4, Deltec CR1500 TwinTech, Kalkwasser RX, Chaeto RX, Tunze ATO, & Frag rack in sump.
bustayanky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/09/2007, 01:37 PM   #16
dUb P. Ham
Registered Member
 
dUb P. Ham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: OC
Posts: 111
Yeah let us know guys i think im going to do the same if that's ok.


dUb P. Ham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/09/2007, 03:09 PM   #17
HenryTran
Registered Member
 
HenryTran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Westminster,CA
Posts: 1,308
Quote:
Originally posted by bustayanky
ok i have the same problem. So can i just get the ground probe and stick it in the water and not find the problem?
you should find out what is causing the problem instead of just putting in a ground probe.

caution: i read somewhere that just putting in a ground probe without the use of a gfi is dangerous.



Last edited by HenryTran; 11/09/2007 at 03:15 PM.
HenryTran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/09/2007, 03:28 PM   #18
dUb P. Ham
Registered Member
 
dUb P. Ham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: OC
Posts: 111
really i just changed out my outlets to gfci outlets.


dUb P. Ham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/09/2007, 07:45 PM   #19
dUb P. Ham
Registered Member
 
dUb P. Ham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: OC
Posts: 111
Is there always going to be live current in the water? i basically turned off every pump and stuff and still got a reading on the multimeter. Let me know.


dUb P. Ham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/09/2007, 10:30 PM   #20
xtm
Registered Member
 
xtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Panorama City, CA
Posts: 4,698
Quote:
Originally posted by dUb P. Ham
Well i understand the unplugging one by one but just not understanding how to use the darn multimeter. Does the black plug go into the COM and the red can alternate from volts and ohms rite? And i should use the volts side to check my water rite?
set range to 110
dip the + probe on the watewr (not the whole probe, just the tip)
put the black (-) to the third prong on your outlet (earth GND)

If you don't see a number, turn the dial lower.. like 50v


__________________
Function before fashion

Current Tank Info: 120g SPS Tank (48x24x24)
xtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/10/2007, 01:44 AM   #21
scoobyrs25
Registered Member
 
scoobyrs25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 361
I've had Koralia powerheads do this to my tank. Start there. The current won't kill you. Your breaker will trip before that ever happens.


__________________
Garage Tuning
I<3 my BK

Current Tank Info: 300g with lonely Sohal
scoobyrs25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:44 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.