Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Special Interest Group (SIG) Forums > Nano Reefs
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Old 12/04/2007, 02:02 PM   #1
WM15
Registered Member

starting out

hey everyone im new at this so im open to any opinions. im lookin to start my first reef tank. i have a niehbor that has a 200g reef tank in his basement. ive had the luxury of being able to go over to his house any time and help feed and watch him take care of the fish. 2 months ago he went on vacation for 5 days and let me look after it for that time. he showed me how to do all the things to kept the fish healthy and flourishing. after he came back he told me i did a pretty good job and that id be the first person he would call if he left again. i loved taking care of that fish tank and now want to start one on my own(but not as big or as cost consuming).
he said he would help if i needed it. but just to be safe i want some more opinions on what equipment to buy and how to keep the tank going for a while. o and i was thinking of starting with a 24g nano cube knowing that me being 16, i dont have a very thick wallet.

WM15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/04/2007, 02:49 PM   #2
SPARTAN VI
Registered Member

24 gallons is a good starting point, if you can afford it. All that water gives you a little more wiggle room should you make any mistakes.

I spent around $700 for my JBJ 24g Nanocube. Included everything I need to get started; chiller, HQI light, liverock, livesand, heater, everything except the water itself.