Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Special Interest Group (SIG) Forums > Nano Reefs
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 11/01/2007, 05:56 PM   #1
jeremyj0247
Premium Member
 
jeremyj0247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: southeast Idaho
Posts: 193
JBJ ATO auto top off?

How is this top off system? I am putting it in my 10gal display, so I want something that is clean looking. I would post a link but I am not sure how. I am looking at Drs foster&smith.


jeremyj0247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/02/2007, 07:21 AM   #2
Subliminal
Registered Member
 
Subliminal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 322
I really like mine. Works pretty much flawlessly.

I have one sensor in my tank and one in my 5g bucket under my stand. I fill the 5g bucket about once a week and that's pretty much it!


Subliminal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/02/2007, 07:21 AM   #3
InLimbo87
Registered Member
 
InLimbo87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Central FL
Posts: 3,197
I'm using the JBJ ato. Have had no problems with it whatsoever, definitely gets my recommendation.


__________________
We are forever responsible for that which we tame...

Current Tank Info: 90 gallon
InLimbo87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/02/2007, 07:35 PM   #4
AVALover5498
*Zoa Freak*
 
AVALover5498's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sioux City, IA
Posts: 752
I was also looking at this product. I'm pretty much set on getting this ATO. I've looked around for quite a while and this has gotten many good reviews. So, I'm excited haha.

-Chris-


AVALover5498 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/02/2007, 07:41 PM   #5
m2434
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,171
Anyone using it with a really slow pump, such as a dosing pump or an aqalifter?


__________________
Our imagination is stretched to the utmost, not, as in fiction, to imagine things which are not really there, but just to comprehend those things which are there. ~Richard Feynman
m2434 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/02/2007, 11:14 PM   #6
cherubfish pair
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Libby, Montana
Posts: 7,061
Blog Entries: 1
I hear Tunze makes a really good one. It keeps the salinity at a very precise level.


__________________
pairo chero

Thanks for looking at my build thread and subscribe to it if you already haven't yet!

Current Tank Info: thirty rimless
cherubfish pair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/03/2007, 01:00 PM   #7
reefturkey
Premium Member
 
reefturkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally posted by m2434
Anyone using it with a really slow pump, such as a dosing pump or an aqalifter?
I knew someone that used with a dosing pump and he was very happy with it.


__________________
Visit my homepage

Current Tank Info: 28g JBJ HQI Modified 250w hood, EVC 250w 20k with icecap ballast, Vortech MP20, Deltec mce300, Reefkeeper 2, JBJ Chiller, etc.
reefturkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/03/2007, 01:04 PM   #8
InLimbo87
Registered Member
 
InLimbo87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Central FL
Posts: 3,197
I use mine with an aqualifter, and it works great...


__________________
We are forever responsible for that which we tame...

Current Tank Info: 90 gallon
InLimbo87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/03/2007, 08:39 PM   #9
cherubfish pair
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Libby, Montana
Posts: 7,061
Blog Entries: 1
Dosing pumps are very expensive and aren't usually used in this type of application. Speed of the pump is immaterial. Twelve dollars is enough to buy a sufficient pump. I wouldn't pay any more.


__________________
pairo chero

Thanks for looking at my build thread and subscribe to it if you already haven't yet!

Current Tank Info: thirty rimless
cherubfish pair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/03/2007, 09:49 PM   #10
Musho3210
Registered Member
 
Musho3210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Evanston IL (near chicago)
Posts: 1,899
i love my tunze ATO, and it comes with a slow dosing pump so thats covered

Just another option in a hobby of options


__________________
Ryan
Musho3210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/04/2007, 05:19 AM   #11
MikePowell
Moved On
 
MikePowell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Miami,FL
Posts: 1,141
you can find dosing pumps on ebay and labx.com they are used alot in the medical/lad/industrial Industries. try to find one that is all corroded and clean it up with vinegar. you can find ones as cheap as 20 bucks.


MikePowell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/04/2007, 06:40 AM   #12
Genin
Registered Member
 
Genin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 755
I use mine with a maxijet 400, works great!


Genin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/04/2007, 07:10 AM   #13
m2434
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally posted by cherubfish pair
Dosing pumps are very expensive and aren't usually used in this type of application. Speed of the pump is immaterial. Twelve dollars is enough to buy a sufficient pump. I wouldn't pay any more.
The speed of the pump does matter if you are mixing kalk with your topoff water. Don't wann' t to bring the pH up too quick....


m2434 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/04/2007, 01:32 PM   #14
cherubfish pair
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Libby, Montana
Posts: 7,061
Blog Entries: 1
m2434,

Are you talking about those very slow dosers that only dose a few mL per hour? They are also very expensive ~ $100 or more. Here we're just talking about freshwater top-off that is needed because of evaporation.

I think those real slow dosers are called peristaltic pumps and they would have to run several hours just to replace a few cups of water.


__________________
pairo chero

Thanks for looking at my build thread and subscribe to it if you already haven't yet!

Current Tank Info: thirty rimless
cherubfish pair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/04/2007, 02:42 PM   #15
m2434
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally posted by cherubfish pair
m2434,

Are you talking about those very slow dosers that only dose a few mL per hour? They are also very expensive ~ $100 or more. Here we're just talking about freshwater top-off that is needed because of evaporation.

I think those real slow dosers are called peristaltic pumps and they would have to run several hours just to replace a few cups of water.
Yes, peristaltic pumps are about $60-100. Right now I drip kalk at night. However, if I have one on a float switch, then I don't have to guess how much to make up at night - I just need to fill a reservoir and put the auto-top off unit on a timer. It may not be the typical use, but I think it would work great with a nano - why not kill two birds with one stone...


m2434 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/04/2007, 03:13 PM   #16
121a
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 803
i use a mini-jet 404, works great.


121a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/04/2007, 04:14 PM   #17
cherubfish pair
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Libby, Montana
Posts: 7,061
Blog Entries: 1
This is my top-off pump, rio 50, with 1/4" hose and John Guest fittings to make two 90 degree turns in the hose. The hose starts from the pump (which sits on the bottom of a five gallon bucket), and goes straight-up out of the freshwater resevior to a JG fitting turning 90 degrees to cross over to the sump and turns 90 degrees again and down into the sump, but not into the water because it would back siphon.

http://i83.photobucket.com/albums/j2...IMAG0004-1.jpg

Here's the ATO unit, a Tsunami AT1, with the level sensor and control power box.

http://i83.photobucket.com/albums/j2...IMAG0003-1.jpg


__________________
pairo chero

Thanks for looking at my build thread and subscribe to it if you already haven't yet!

Current Tank Info: thirty rimless
cherubfish pair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/04/2007, 05:47 PM   #18
danoreef
I love ReefCentral!
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 703
have you seen this do it yourself one

http://www.aquahub.com/store/product27.html


__________________
Any Aquarium is good enough for me!
danoreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/05/2007, 06:12 PM   #19
jeremyj0247
Premium Member
 
jeremyj0247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: southeast Idaho
Posts: 193
Are both sensors on the JBJ needed in the tank. I just have a 10gal with no sump and don't want big bulky sensors all over my tank. From what I have read on the JBJ there is a low sensor and a high. which one goes in the tank if only one is needed.


jeremyj0247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/05/2007, 06:49 PM   #20
zack85
Registered Member
 
zack85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally posted by MikePowell
you can find dosing pumps on ebay and labx.com they are used alot in the medical/lad/industrial Industries. try to find one that is all corroded and clean it up with vinegar. you can find ones as cheap as 20 bucks.
Took a look at LabX - could'nt find a dosing pump, but did see an awesome Doughnut Fryer


zack85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/05/2007, 07:02 PM   #21
GobyJohnKenobi
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 413
I chose the Tunze for my 30.

To me it was worth the extra money for the pice of mind offered by the overfill cut-off float switch and the precision of the optical fill switch. Having a dedicated controller that cuts the unit off if it runs too long (both sensors fail) or if the top-off water container is empty is nice.

I run a surface skimming filter and keep the water level fairly high in the tank so consistency and accuracy are very important.

I bought it used for $100 and picked up a new pump for $15 and a European wire connector for $8 from Radio Shack to replace the corroded connector.

The Tunzes get bashed on their price pretty often, but when you look at everything you get for your money..... It's your money.
IMO & E - Best money I have ever spent on equipment.


GobyJohnKenobi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/09/2007, 04:18 PM   #22
QN5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 16
my JBJ ATO over filled my tank too many times. I had 2 sensors in my 20 long. Maybe I didn't set it up right. I haven't used it in a while. Can anyone tell me if I'm not using this ATO right?


QN5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/09/2007, 04:54 PM   #23
InLimbo87
Registered Member
 
InLimbo87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Central FL
Posts: 3,197
Quote:
Originally posted by QN5
my JBJ ATO over filled my tank too many times. I had 2 sensors in my 20 long. Maybe I didn't set it up right. I haven't used it in a while. Can anyone tell me if I'm not using this ATO right?
What do you mean by filled it to many times? You mean it over-filled your tank?

If so, then yes you most likely have it setup wrong (or it is a faulty unit). How exactly do you have it setup? Have pics of your setup so we can see if its setup right (hard to tell w/o a description at least)?


__________________
We are forever responsible for that which we tame...

Current Tank Info: 90 gallon
InLimbo87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/09/2007, 05:09 PM   #24
unbreakable
D:
 
unbreakable's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ?
Posts: 2,868
is it me or is there like a 3 second delay once the it fills up the water in the tank before the sensor shuts the pump off?


__________________
INTERNET= Serious Business!
unbreakable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/09/2007, 05:52 PM   #25
QN5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 16
my ATO works fine for several days and out of no where, my tank is almost overflowing and my sg drops. Anyone has a picture of the set up?


QN5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:08 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.