Reef Central Online Community
Marine Depot

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 09/02/2021, 08:06 AM   #1
Itchy Trigger
Registered Member
 
Itchy Trigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,354
Freshwater Continuous Drip w/RO

Is it ok to post freshwater questions here? Or will I be banned for blasphemy?

I've just bought a new house in the Hudson Valley with a nice sized basement. I'm starting with a large freshwater system of several hundred gallons. I want to do a continuous drip system on the tank that will turnover 200% of the tank's volume each week (there are going to be big, messy fish in there).

The house is on well water (there's a water softener as well), and the water is a little too high in alkalinity/TDS/pH for the South American cichlids I keep, while my CA cichlids could probably handle it. Actually they could all PROBABLY handle it and maybe I'm being overly cautious. But I thought the best/safest way to do this would be to go with RO/DI water.

So... For the continuous drip I'd be running a line off my cold supply line. Would I be able to just run this through the RO/DI unit and straight to the tank? I would have to then dose the tank with buffer to replenish the water with what would make ideal parameters for the fish. I just want to be able to have everything automated. So if the water goes through RO unit and then drips to the tank, I can then use dosing pumps on the sump to add buffer or whatever is essential back to the tank. Or something like that...

Can anyone offer any suggestions to help me accomplish what I'm going for (i.e. total automation)? Or should I throw caution to the wind and just acclimate my fish slowly to the new water and see how they do?

I realize I could just start over and keep rift lake cichlids or something but I already have a few tanks' worth of CA/SA fish that I'd like to move into the new house.

Thoughts? Suggestions? Anyone?


__________________
330g FOWLR: Angels, Tangs and more.
Itchy Trigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/18/2021, 10:36 PM   #2
SantaMonica
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Santa Monica, California, USA
Posts: 2,497
It should work. And if you want to automate the pH then you can control a CO2 system. And of course could also automate the feeding.


__________________
Inventor of the easy-to-DIY upflow scrubber, and also the waterfall scrubber that everyone loves to build:
http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1424843
SantaMonica is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:49 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.