Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 01/10/2008, 10:55 AM   #1
FishAreFriends2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 1,163
Exclamation Koralia Mod for WaveMakers?

Well koralias aren't meant for wavemakers but I was wondering if anyone attempted to mod theres so that it would'nt make that clanking noise when it starts up? If you have one that you modded and it works really well please post a guide of how you accomplished it. TIA


FishAreFriends2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/10/2008, 11:30 AM   #2
chull13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 60
I have heard of people running these on the Seio wavemaker controllers. These controllers don't shut the pump off completely so the impeller continues to spin at about 50%.


chull13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/10/2008, 12:41 PM   #3
happyface888
Registered Member
 
happyface888's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 3,987
I heard of that way too, but I wonder what mods can be done to stop the noise if you were to use it on one ac jr or rk2. I did hear of someone using a rigid tubing to fix the problem.


happyface888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/10/2008, 12:42 PM   #4
MSU Fan
Registered Member
 
MSU Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Russellville, TN
Posts: 1,645
The clicking noise is from the impeller spinning backwards. The only way to not have it do that is to not shut off the impeller. The Seio controller ramps the power up and down (like Chull13 said, to about 50%), so you don't get that noise.


__________________
Craig & Holly

1-29g FW

5-cats, 1-dog (Shepherd Mix)

Current Tank Info: To be set up 44g corner pentagon
MSU Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/10/2008, 12:49 PM   #5
OranguTang
NULL
 
OranguTang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 977
The Koralia's do NOT work with the Seio controller. I have tried this personally. They were not meant to run at 50%....the magnet is constantly rattling at that speed.


__________________
-Marc
OranguTang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/10/2008, 12:52 PM   #6
BigAl2007
Registered Member
 
BigAl2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Waynesville, NC USA
Posts: 1,737
I have TWO of the Nano's in my tank on my AC Jr. with a random "Wave Schedule" and they have YET to make any noises. The AC Jr has a "Soft Start" feature which I don't know exactly what it does but they don't make ANY noise at all and they cycle on/off every few minutes in random between 3 & 7 minute intervals.


BigAl2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/10/2008, 01:31 PM   #7
chull13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 60
I have heard that hydor is coming out with a wavemaker for the koralias by this summer. I am trying to be patient and wait. We will see what happens.


chull13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/10/2008, 02:14 PM   #8
roxy
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 52
Has anyone used them on a Red Sea Wavemaster ?


roxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/10/2008, 02:17 PM   #9
happyface888
Registered Member
 
happyface888's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 3,987
Its probaly going to do the same. Anyone know of a mod for these pumps so that they can work on wave makers?


happyface888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/10/2008, 03:02 PM   #10
Saboral
Registered Member
 
Saboral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Blacksburg, Va
Posts: 368
I use them on my red sea wavemaker and they make the clicking noise. As of the moment I just tolerate it. I just bought an RK controller though and I am hoping it will improve this problem. I am going to be playing with mine to stop the noise when I get back to school.


Saboral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/10/2008, 06:52 PM   #11
customcolor
Registered Member
 
customcolor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: kaukauna, wi.
Posts: 3,879
i had a #2 and a #1 on the red sea wavermaker and the num 1 was quiet but the num 2 was loud. the clanking you hear every once and a wile is the propeller spinning back words and forcing the magnet/prop ***. out and slide to the front of the pump. doing this it changes the magneticness some how so it will start to turn in the right direction. reason the #2 is louder is because the magnet/prop ***. is heaver. so more mass = more noise.
by the way i took off the num 2 but left the num 1 on the wave maker and had no problems or noise


__________________
PLEASE DONT USE GREAT STUFF (THE YELLOW STUFF) IN YOUR TANK........USE POND FOAM (THE BLACK STUFF).. I BEG YOU!

Great stuff====$5 a can
24-48 hour cure
Epoxy to cover it====little as $5 for small projects or up to $100+ for larger projects
and another 24-48 hour cure
I hope you covered it well cuz if you didnt it will start to break down in a few months
sand is another added cost to cover up the yellow.

Pond foams====$9-$15 a can
24-48 hour cure
DONE! You can cover it with sand if you want to (YOU DONT HAVE TO) though but thats added cost again

Current Tank Info: 75 gal under way
customcolor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/10/2008, 07:37 PM   #12
jade2122
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 922
I use 3 koralia 4's on a red sea wavemaker, yes they clank every so often when starting up but really do me it is no big deal considering the great benefit you get from having them on a wavemaker. I have yet to get my tank perfectly silent anyway so no big deal to me


jade2122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/10/2008, 07:56 PM   #13
welsher7
Registered Member
 
welsher7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 896
I run two #4s on the seio controller, and they work perfectly.


__________________
Dan

Current Tank Info: A rebuilding year.....
welsher7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/11/2008, 01:37 AM   #14
happyface888
Registered Member
 
happyface888's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 3,987
Anyone have any ideas to solve that clanking noise when they start up?


happyface888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/11/2008, 09:40 AM   #15
NanoReefWanabe
Registered Member
 
NanoReefWanabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,639
Quote:
Originally posted by happyface888
Anyone have any ideas to solve that clanking noise when they start up?
you could try a piece of foam or sponge on the end of the prop that way when it hits the front of the cage it is suppressed by the sponge...however that will have its own problems..as i know my koralias tend to get little bits of algae growing on them...so a sponge is only going to trap more nutrients...if you run a nutrient deprived system then i dont see a problem with this..


NanoReefWanabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/11/2008, 09:55 AM   #16
FishAreFriends2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 1,163
Got any pictures of that little mod? It sounds pretty good. I look forward to other mods aswell. Keep on posting TIA


FishAreFriends2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/11/2008, 10:45 AM   #17
RONCGIZMO
Registered Member
 
RONCGIZMO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 371
Maybe a prop stop like on the sure flows for the maxi mod..

the prop hits the stop and sins it the right way, but it still clicks
as of now I just took my Wavemaster off it was no much of a PITA


RONCGIZMO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/11/2008, 11:01 AM   #18
derick2724
Moved On
 
derick2724's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SoCal, Garden Grove
Posts: 273
So Koralia is not recommended for any controller? even with the carbon fiber shaft?


derick2724 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/11/2008, 12:22 PM   #19
Noise
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 291
I also run 2 K4s on the Seio controller with no problems.


Noise is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:54 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.