Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 03/13/2021, 09:53 AM   #1
CTaylor
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,519
Will a new APEX have a long useful life?

Hi
I'm thinking of a Apex controller. I know it came out mid 2019 (?) . I'm nervous if I put down the $730 after sale price (plus whatever addons like pump cotroller) that it will up obsolete in a few years. But would that really happen? B/c I'm trying to think how the ability to monitor and control things would diminish over time, say within 10 years. Maybe 10 years is a long time. But if I can get 10 years use I think I'd be satisfied. 7 years maybe 5 or less not so much.
Any input on this appreciated!

BTW i'm thinking of this b/c my pinopoint Ca reactor controller is acting up. WIll have to replace. And I "know" an apex can control it via conrtolling the pH via the CO2 solenoid.
*Does anyone know if it measures pH down to 0.01 or just to 0.1?

TY!


CTaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/13/2021, 04:37 PM   #2
Vinny Kreyling
Registered Member
 
Vinny Kreyling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Miller Place, NY
Posts: 7,008
CT, I would opt for a used small unit a few years old.
WHY/, well they are expandable & as long as you don't want or need phone notifications or auto water changes. I believe they are more stable.
As far as the CA reactor you really don't need a PH probe, I have never had one.
Measurements are in 100ths, 0.01.


__________________
250 gallon mixed reef, 2 Reefbreeder's Photon V 2, Deepwater BLDC 12, DAS EX-3 Skimmer, MTC mini cal, 2-3/4" Sea Swirls, Aquacontroller & 6 Tunze pumps.
Vinny Kreyling is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/14/2021, 10:09 AM   #3
kurt_n
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 2,584
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTaylor View Post
Hi
I'm thinking of a Apex controller. I know it came out mid 2019 (?) . I'm nervous if I put down the $730 after sale price (plus whatever addons like pump cotroller) that it will up obsolete in a few years. ...
It all depends on what you define as obsolete, I suppose. I'm still running the previous generation Apex - bought it in July 2010. Still runs fine, can do everything I need it to, and works with Fusion. I think the odds of having a long useful life are pretty good based on my experience.


kurt_n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/15/2021, 08:46 AM   #4
edkhutch
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 17
I just got one around Thanksgiving. i have never been so intune with my water and system. In fact i loved it so much i when and got the Trident for myself for Christmas. lol. i have since programmed fans to kick on with high temp, flow meters to monitor uv and carbon, fuge lights to come on at night to balance PH spikes. it is endless what can be done well worth the $$.


edkhutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/15/2021, 09:26 AM   #5
CTaylor
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,519
Vinny, Thanks for that. Though I was going to get a new pinpoint CO2 controller if not amn apex. Ipersonally have better alk stabilith with a controller. I"m sure theres ways to do it without the probe. But also if I go away for a while I'll need something to keep it on track. Ideally i'll have autowater changes as well esp after I move (soon?). I just wouldnt want to get electronics used (that's just me). What you said all makes sense though!

Kurt: obsoolete meaning mostly useless. I dont mean that a 'better' model came out. That's really good yours is lasting well.

Ed, I like the fan part! .
I really like these replies!. It helped. I already bought it though!> NOw Im' happier that I did :-D . I need to work an extra 5 hrs a week for a while! lol.


CTaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/15/2021, 09:33 AM   #6
edkhutch
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 17
i have been wanting to set up Auto water changes but as my wife says i need to stop spending $$$ on the tank.. so i need to wait a bit. let me know how you land with that set up.


edkhutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/15/2021, 10:37 AM   #7
CTaylor
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,519
I want an auto changer. I need to see overall cost of course. but yuo and I know it's stressful just thikninga bout a water change feven if it doesnt take tooo long. I have an apartment so I dont jknow where I'd put the reservoire. I was gonna wait til hopefuly I move to a little house this year to do it.


CTaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/15/2021, 11:26 AM   #8
wishntoboutside
professional snow flake
 
wishntoboutside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Riverside, Cali
Posts: 5,888
Have you considered the HYDROS Controller? just another option for you


__________________
Richard

Current Tank Info: 450 gallon peninsula tank 72*48*30 filled with a bunch of frags and trying to grow them out.
wishntoboutside is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/15/2021, 11:36 AM   #9
CTaylor
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by wishntoboutside View Post
Have you considered the HYDROS Controller? just another option for you
HI
I didnt at all. But it looks interesting from the 5 mins I just read about it. I noticed it doesnt have as many outlets, but it has usb ports, apex does not. I dont know a comparison apex vs hydra though at all.


CTaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/01/2021, 04:03 PM   #10
E46er
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: BC
Posts: 136
I have had my classic running a tank for Atleast 12 years.
I bought the new version for my new tank.
I find the new one *easier* to set up with the tasks but both are still a bit of a pain in the ***.
I couldn’t get either to connect with wifi so I have routers inside the stands they are hardwired too.

I wouldn’t set up a tank without one but it’s a pain in the ***. The Neptune Facebook group is amazing for help.


__________________
250G DD LED SPS corner blow out RIP
300 G build in progress 80”x36”x24”


180G LED see thru
E46er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/02/2021, 06:47 AM   #11
fishgate
Registered Member
 
fishgate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Damascus, MD
Posts: 3,328
I still have $1000 worth of digital aquatics control that does everything I want and more. Obsolete implies something it does will no longer be needed or something new is not supported. Aquarium care hasn't changed that much over the past 30 years.


__________________
125RR in-wall, 40B Sump, CS180 BM Skimmer, ATI 4x80 watt, eheim 1262, custom wrap around rock wall, ReefKeeper Elite

120g in-wall, 40B Sump, PC 54wx4, Jabao DC-6000 (full siphon), future seahorse t

Current Tank Info: 125g, 120g, 2x40b sumps, ATI 4x80 T5HO
fishgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/02/2021, 07:51 PM   #12
suckerfishdish
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 59
Ordered one the same month the new generation came out, i've never had any problems except wi-fi connectivity. Moved the router closer and firmware upgrades seem to have helped that out.

There is a Cor pump, three Pmup pumps, a Breakout box and Wavs hooked up. no problems with any so far.


suckerfishdish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/08/2021, 10:15 PM   #13
Ruu
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 1,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by edkhutch View Post
In fact i loved it so much i when and got the Trident for myself for Christmas.
Hey me too. I mean, it was February but whatever. Details.


Ruu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/20/2021, 03:35 PM   #14
CTaylor
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,519
Thx for the responses. I did get one and a trident. I do like it a lot. I even have my tunze streams controlled by the apex. The fan, heater. Calcium reactor, now I wont get too high of an alk again without knowing it, etc. I found a tutorial youtube channel on it, which helped immensely. And it can control more than one tank, which is neat, since I have two :-D


CTaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:27 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright ©1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.