Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 01/07/2008, 06:17 PM   #1
x2uranium
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pittston, PA
Posts: 1,257
Arrow icecap ballast

For people who have Icecap 660 or 430, for a 4 bulb setup can you wire them up each lamp for seperate power switches, or once the ballast is on (all the lamps turn on). If that being said is true when you power up all bulbs turn on.....

will this work
http://www.aquacave.com/detail.aspx?ID=884#

says reqires hard wiring, so I am assuming that You can hook up each bulb individual to this??? Or am I wrong here?


x2uranium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/08/2008, 07:09 AM   #2
x2uranium
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pittston, PA
Posts: 1,257
Nobody has icecaps????


x2uranium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/08/2008, 07:33 AM   #3
luke33
Moved On
 
luke33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 8,375
All my bulb's fire when the light comes on, you cannot only fire two out of the 4. The link you have is just a timer you can program with 8 settings.


luke33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/08/2008, 09:07 AM   #4
Racing1
Registered Member
 
Racing1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 740
You cand only wire the ballasts to run all bulbs at once. There is no way that I know of the run them seperate, You can get a dimmer for it though...


Racing1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/08/2008, 09:24 AM   #5
MattG
Premium Member
 
MattG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Waco, TX
Posts: 3,216
Iecaps are either all on or all off. You can use multiple ballasts though but that gets expensive. Other option is a dimmer for sunrise/sunset as previously mentioned.


__________________
Matt

Current Tank Info: 215 mixed reef
MattG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/08/2008, 12:23 PM   #6
Attreui
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 321
Fluorescent ballasts wire the lamps in series like the small christmas lights. You take any of them out of the loop and the whole line goes out. That is why this isn't feesable. It isn't impossible, but it would not be good for the ballast to do this because of the load changes. Better to get 2 small ballasts that can run dual lamps and are cheaper than the 660.


Attreui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/08/2008, 02:48 PM   #7
x2uranium
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pittston, PA
Posts: 1,257
Ty for the replies, I thought that this was the case.. where can i find a dimmer for the icecap?


x2uranium is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:52 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.