Reef Central Online Community
Blue Zoo Aquatics

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 11/11/2007, 06:24 PM   #1
volmek
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 33
Deltec MCE300 or Remora Pro

Building a new 48gal long (48") reef tank. Planing to keep lots of corals, softys, LPF and SPS. I need an hang on skimmer, the tank will be sump less. Wich one would your prefer? Deltec MCE300 or Remora Pro (mag3). I know there's a little price difference but I don't care.


volmek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/11/2007, 06:43 PM   #2
dzeadow
Premium Member
 
dzeadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bozeman, MT
Posts: 2,589
DELTEC! Do NOT buy a Remora.. you will be very PO'ed that you wasted your money! If the Deltec is too pricey, there are other options out there as well such as the Bermuda Rogue skimmer (HOB) and Octopus, I have a 100F Octo on my 45g cube and it's working good so far. But pretty much everyone will tell you that Deltec is the best, especially if you're willing to pay the money


__________________
- Danny

Current Tank Info: Dual 50 Breeder system, 30g custom sump/fuge, MSX200, Tank1-6x24T5 retro, Tank2-4x39T5 retro
dzeadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/11/2007, 06:45 PM   #3
GSMguy
Registered Member
 
GSMguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 17,420
i upgraded from the remora to deltec and i dont regret it the deltec pulls 4x the skimmate.


__________________
Nick.
Conehead.
Shallow Reef club.

Current Tank Info: 48"x27"x14" Envision Acrylic rimless, 6x39w ATi Sunpower, Custom ATB Deluxe Skimmer, 4x tunze nano stream,ATB flowstar 1500, ACJR, Tunze osmolator.
GSMguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/11/2007, 06:56 PM   #4
cuse1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: syracuse ny
Posts: 133
I have the mce300 on my 75 and love it. And doug from deltec has excellent to deal with


cuse1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/11/2007, 07:18 PM   #5
Paliya
Registered Member
 
Paliya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 238
I have both an MCE300 and Remora Pro w/ Mag 3.

The Deltec MCE300 is superior in every way.


Paliya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/11/2007, 07:20 PM   #6
sherm71tank
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3,670
Can't speak for the Deltec but the Remora is a POS! I bought a Pro and initially I thought it is great (even gave it a good review here on RC) but it quickly went down hill and never came back .


sherm71tank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/11/2007, 08:09 PM   #7
ReefRockerLive
GHL Mitras LX7 Club
 
ReefRockerLive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 2,454
Blog Entries: 1
The Aqua C(AquaCrap in my eyes) Remora skimmers are no good. The Deltec MCE300 will do much better than the Remora and will keep you satisfied by providing you a cleaner tank.


__________________
-ReefRockerLive

Current Tank Info: Rimless 67g | GHL Profilux 3.1T eX | 2x GHL Doser 2 dosers | 2xGHL Mitras LX7 LED | Abyzz a100 | Bubble King DC 150 | 2x Vortech MP40w QD | Fauna Marin Zeomatic 2.2ltr | Fauna Marin Zeolight System | Fauna Marin Balling Light Method
ReefRockerLive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/11/2007, 08:19 PM   #8
Freed
It's what it's
 
Freed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: 41 2' 45" N 85 8' 43" W
Posts: 7,579
I have used both. The Deltec works great but has a tiny skimmer collection cup. MY Remora Pro has never failed me, works great, pulls lots of skimmate and has a much larger collection cup. If I had my choice again I would get Deltec ONLY if it had a much larger collection cup OR a Remora Pro.


__________________
Freed

Current Tank Info: 180gal(1120 watts of MH/VHO light), 60gal "sump", Deltec 601 calcium reactor, Euro Reef CS8-3+ skimmer, 20 gallon QT
Freed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/11/2007, 08:23 PM   #9
luke33
Moved On
 
luke33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 8,375
Remora pro is one of the biggest waste's of money around. Completely outdated like the injection crapper it uses. Aqua c has great customer service, just with they had decent skimmers.


luke33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/11/2007, 08:29 PM   #10
glassbox-design
Registered Member
 
glassbox-design's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SF
Posts: 3,041
if you can swing it, get the mce600. it really is a monster. click our red house to see action/nog shots.


__________________
GLASSBOXDESIGN
the modern reef blog

LEDs are a 50,000 hr investment. Choose wisely.

Current Tank Info: ...a new glassbox is coming
glassbox-design is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/12/2007, 04:11 AM   #11
kdblove_99
Registered Member
 
kdblove_99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Frederick,CO
Posts: 8,681
HAd the remora hated it, but i would not get a deltec HOB either.

I have seen way too many thread about there Deltec HOB overflowing which = bad carpet


kdblove_99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/12/2007, 05:27 AM   #12
sjm817
On Yer left!
 
sjm817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 18,777
I'd get a sump and a good skimmer.


__________________
- Scott
sjm817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/12/2007, 06:19 AM   #13
glassbox-design
Registered Member
 
glassbox-design's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SF
Posts: 3,041
kdb-if you read those threads you'll find that all the floods are within the first couple weeks when the skimmer is breaking in, cup is not set high, and air flow is not restricted as said per the instructions. i am guilty of not doing that, and i had an overflow....since then it's been problem free.

another thing is the performance is effected by water level...if you're water level drops an inch, performance drops a bit and you naturally lower the collection cup.... but then when topping off, there is less restriction (gravity) on the intake of the pump and the cup must be again readjusted.

if you use a ato, then this is not a problem....but many people without sumps like myself do not.


__________________
GLASSBOXDESIGN
the modern reef blog

LEDs are a 50,000 hr investment. Choose wisely.

Current Tank Info: ...a new glassbox is coming
glassbox-design is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/12/2007, 06:28 AM   #14
volmek
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 33
alright... Deltec it is.

I had a MCE600 on my last tank but i found it very noisy... Is the MCE300 more quiet?


volmek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/12/2007, 06:31 AM   #15
sjm817
On Yer left!
 
sjm817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 18,777
That wasn't the case for me. The skimmer was still randomly overflowing for no reason after two months. Air all the way open, cup up very high. The instructions state the air should be @ 2:00. At that setting, it was impossible to not get a daily overflow.

My issue is an HOB skimmer, especially a high end one like a Deltec, should be designed so an overflow is not possible. The other thing I didn't like is the very small collection cup. That could have been designed much better.


__________________
- Scott
sjm817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/12/2007, 09:39 AM   #16
glassbox-design
Registered Member
 
glassbox-design's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SF
Posts: 3,041
volmek...ours is extremely quiet. did you have the rubber feet on the under side of the pump?


__________________
GLASSBOXDESIGN
the modern reef blog

LEDs are a 50,000 hr investment. Choose wisely.

Current Tank Info: ...a new glassbox is coming
glassbox-design is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/12/2007, 08:24 PM   #17
Freed
It's what it's
 
Freed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: 41 2' 45" N 85 8' 43" W
Posts: 7,579
http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/sh...readid=1249142


__________________
Freed

Current Tank Info: 180gal(1120 watts of MH/VHO light), 60gal "sump", Deltec 601 calcium reactor, Euro Reef CS8-3+ skimmer, 20 gallon QT
Freed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/12/2007, 10:13 PM   #18
s3aL
Registered Member
 
s3aL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fairfield, California
Posts: 847
I really don't think a overflow is possible with a deltec MCE 600 unless you have it setup wrong. So IMO a overflow = user error. I have had two mce600 and never had any of those problems. Ive even tested both skimmers to see if it was possible to overflow. End result was the skimmate just going right back into the skimmer like its suppose to.


__________________
58g oceanic (36x18x21)
36" Aquatinics 2x175w MH 2x39w T5
Deltec MCE600
3x Koralia 3's
Litermeter3
Dual stage Ranco controller

Matt
s3aL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/13/2007, 05:13 AM   #19
sjm817
On Yer left!
 
sjm817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 18,777
MCE600 Overflow is very possible. Since I've seen it happen many times, that is not even a question. Lots of people have had the problem. When I posted about it on the Deltec forum, I received several PMs from people telling me they had the same issue and got rid of the skimmer for just that reason. It is not "user error". Its a bad design. Why do you think its "not possible"? The tiny little overflow tube doesnt work. IME the foam goes right past it, out the top of the cup and all over the floor. I've got no personal agenda here. Just posting what my (and others) experience was with the simmer. YMMV

To help others, please explain exactly what the user set up wrong that would cause this. I worked with Marvin of Atlantis Aquarium, a Deltec distributor and noted "Deltec expert" on this problem. You should fill him him in on this user error as well since he obviously doesn't know how to set one up either.


__________________
- Scott

Last edited by sjm817; 11/13/2007 at 05:31 AM.
sjm817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/13/2007, 07:10 AM   #20
glassbox-design
Registered Member
 
glassbox-design's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SF
Posts: 3,041
sjm, i thought i read your friend was the user.... needless to say, the only time ours overflowed was because of user error. to counter your post i've had numerous PM's saying they purchased a deltec hob and couldnt be happier. it's all relative.

if the skimmer isnt set up properly it can skim faster than the tube can overflow...that means there is either something in the water or air (e.g. paint fumes, house hold cleaner fumes).

back to the post, volmek good luck with your decision.

eric


__________________
GLASSBOXDESIGN
the modern reef blog

LEDs are a 50,000 hr investment. Choose wisely.

Current Tank Info: ...a new glassbox is coming
glassbox-design is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/13/2007, 08:11 AM   #21
morishidle
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 97
deltec

go with the deltec


morishidle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/13/2007, 10:50 AM   #22
volmek
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 33
yep I'll go with the Deltec.

SJM817, my old MCE600 overflowed only once and it was totally my fault. I had niverted the cover of the collection cup. The little hole on that cover was'nt on the right side. Once I turned the cover around , I never had any other problems untils my tank cracked... but that's an other story : (


volmek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/13/2007, 08:02 PM   #23
sjm817
On Yer left!
 
sjm817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 18,777
Please define User error. I have yet to have anyone tell me what that is. Again, I went over the setup with Marvin. There was no "user error". It was set up correctly. There isn't that much you could do wrong. Yes, it was a skimmer I set up on a friends tank. I dont see how that is relevant. I'm glad you guys didn't have big problems with your MCE600s like others have. I never said everyone has the problem, but many have. Again, my point is an HOB skimmer should be designed so that it CAN NOT overflow. The MCE600 certainly can and does.

I never even mentioned the set screw issue causing body deflection which also causes it to leak.


__________________
- Scott

Last edited by sjm817; 11/13/2007 at 08:10 PM.
sjm817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/13/2007, 08:15 PM   #24
the floor guy
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: arlington texas
Posts: 65
ive never used a deltec my remora pro in sump has work great for over 3 years and running always pulls lots of crap out ive read lots of good things about remora untill this thread


the floor guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/13/2007, 08:34 PM   #25
sherm71tank
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3,670
Quote:
Originally posted by the floor guy
ive never used a deltec my remora pro in sump has work great for over 3 years and running always pulls lots of crap out ive read lots of good things about remora untill this thread
Then you haven't been reading much on the Remora or are very selective on which threads you read.


sherm71tank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:01 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.