Reef Central Online Community
Blue Zoo Aquatics

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > More Forums > Reef Club Forums > MidWest Region-Reef Club Forums > Greater Minnesota Reef Society
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 01/07/2008, 06:20 PM   #1
Home_Depot
Moved On
 
Home_Depot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bemidji,MN
Posts: 414
Let the brown begin!!

I just started to notice today that the brown algea has started so my cycle must be on it way. So I am thinking it will be a couple of more weeks till everything levels out.....right??


Home_Depot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/07/2008, 08:38 PM   #2
benihana
Registered Member
 
benihana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Prior Lake, Minnesota
Posts: 1,230
I think everyone is different, as I do not recall getting ANY brown in my tank...just make sure your skimmer is working double time, that should at least help


__________________
Currently tankless, but have a few things in the works
benihana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/07/2008, 08:56 PM   #3
Home_Depot
Moved On
 
Home_Depot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bemidji,MN
Posts: 414
Ya my skimmer is working is butt off in the last 4 days I have filled up a 5 gallon bucket and working on the 2nd. I was weird on Sunday there was nothing and when I woke up this morning there was brown all over and when I got home from work there was more!!


Home_Depot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/08/2008, 11:21 AM   #4
Mr James
Premium Member
 
Mr James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kernersville, NC
Posts: 6,192
How are you cycling your tank?? How much live rock do you have in there and do you plan to put more in later?? Fishless cycle or ?? Personally I would run my halides during the cycle, maybe just the actinics.

Brown is diatoms aren't they?? I always forget the specific names of each. What are your test levels showing for Ammonia, Phosphate, Nitrite and Nitrates (was there another, I forget)?? This will be the true test for whether your tank has cycled. You did fill with DI water correct?? What is your TDS of your DI??


Mr James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/08/2008, 05:58 PM   #5
GoingPostal
Registered Member
 
GoingPostal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,515
When I set up the tank at the pet store the diatom phase lasted about a week and it completely gone, that's tap water and pc lighting though, I've never really gone through it with any of my tanks. Brown is better than green though!


__________________
Most people don't realize that large pieces of coral, which have been painted brown and attached to the skull by common wood screws, can make a child look like a deer.
*Jack Handey
GoingPostal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/08/2008, 06:27 PM   #6
Home_Depot
Moved On
 
Home_Depot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bemidji,MN
Posts: 414
I am just letting it do its own thing as far as LR I have one little piece I got from Randy and I did feed my tank with mysis shrimp a few times. I am doing it fishless, I am running my halides they come on at 11am and shut off at 8pm

Yes they are diatoms as far as testing goes I saw the spike in ammonia but that is droped off alot and almost at 0 but now the nitrites are spiking which is rasinig my nitrates. I have not tested phosphates. Should I??

Yes it used all new filters and DI beads and my TDS was 0

Garrett

Quote:
Originally posted by Mr James
How are you cycling your tank?? How much live rock do you have in there and do you plan to put more in later?? Fishless cycle or ?? Personally I would run my halides during the cycle, maybe just the actinics.

Brown is diatoms aren't they?? I always forget the specific names of each. What are your test levels showing for Ammonia, Phosphate, Nitrite and Nitrates (was there another, I forget)?? This will be the true test for whether your tank has cycled. You did fill with DI water correct?? What is your TDS of your DI??



Home_Depot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/08/2008, 09:33 PM   #7
KADLETZ
Moved On
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL.
Posts: 611
brown,green,to purple your doin it right.


KADLETZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/08/2008, 09:34 PM   #8
Mr James
Premium Member
 
Mr James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kernersville, NC
Posts: 6,192
Great answers Garrett!! You understand the cycling process obviously. I wouldn't run the halides that long. I wonder if it complicates things!??

So how much live rock do you have?? Any pics??


Mr James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/09/2008, 05:28 AM   #9
Home_Depot
Moved On
 
Home_Depot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bemidji,MN
Posts: 414
I only have 1 rock the size of a softball in there the rest are all dead including my sand.OK I will turn the halides on later in the day


Home_Depot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/17/2008, 12:41 PM   #10
dedex
Registered Member
 
dedex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 307
How's the cycling going?


__________________
A clean house is the sign of a broken computer...

Current Tank Info: 75g reef w/MRc MR-1, closed loop, 40g sump; 20g reef
dedex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/17/2008, 04:39 PM   #11
Home_Depot
Moved On
 
Home_Depot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bemidji,MN
Posts: 414
It is going well I think I want to add some snails soon as the algea has started!!!!AAAHHHHH


Home_Depot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/17/2008, 06:49 PM   #12
Mr James
Premium Member
 
Mr James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kernersville, NC
Posts: 6,192
If you add snails when your nitrates are too high, you'll more than likely kill them. Are you doing water changes??


Mr James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/18/2008, 05:07 AM   #13
Home_Depot
Moved On
 
Home_Depot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bemidji,MN
Posts: 414
No I have not but was thinking about it today.


Home_Depot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/18/2008, 05:59 AM   #14
MN. Reef crzy
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: minnesota.
Posts: 310
i am so glad i cycled my stuff out of the tank. Everyone that cycles sand and live rock in the tank seems to just have a huge struggle. i did mine in big rubermaid cans with drains i put in the bottom so i could change water as much as i needed to.


MN. Reef crzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:01 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.