Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Coral Forums > SPS Keepers
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 01/11/2008, 11:55 PM   #1
REEFY1
Registered Member
 
REEFY1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Vinton,VA
Posts: 983
Removing sand from SPS Tank

Ok, my tank has been running over 11/2 yrs and i have sand-Could i get away with removing the sand and laying down starboard-even now, Things are doing fine just tired of sand blowing around from the tunzes-Please express your opinion thanks


REEFY1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/12/2008, 02:29 AM   #2
moo0o
Premium Member
 
moo0o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SJ,CA
Posts: 1,694
good question, it depends on how deep your sandbed is..BUT if you plan on moving all of your corals out and THEN removing the sand, i dont see what the problem is. then again, i could be completely wrong.


moo0o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/12/2008, 04:46 AM   #3
Randy1
Registered Member
 
Randy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lorain, Ohio USA
Posts: 578
Im removing my sand today not using the starboard. Im just going to siphone it out and use a powerhead to blow it out from under the rocks. I don't wnat to break the entire tank down.


Randy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/13/2008, 01:54 PM   #4
Jester
Registered Member
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Va Beach, Va....
Posts: 795
How deep is your sand bed...?? I'd be careful if its deep... I wouldnt want to stir up a lot of bad stuff in the process... siphoning out I've done before, but never used a pump to blow things around...


__________________
click my "little red house" for my 29gallon SPS tank build...

30 gallon breeder prop tank build started... soon to be added to my build above...

Current Tank Info: 29 gallon drilled and plumbed thru-wall, Custom 10 gallon sump/fuge, Gen-X 4100 return, 2 Tunze Nanostream 6025s, AquaEuro Recirc 135 skimmer, 150watt HQI 14K Pheonix MH w/ 2x55watt PC lighting, lebos Lunar lights, 45#s live Rock, 20#s live sand...
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/13/2008, 03:02 PM   #5
SanDiegoSPS
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: san diego
Posts: 3
sand bed

do it slowly over time. If you do it all at once you'll stir up amonia that is housed in the sand. I've been doing the same thing on my 250 gal that is 3 years old. You're best bet is to syphon it out with water changes


SanDiegoSPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/15/2008, 11:06 PM   #6
jennmac415
premium member "reefmama"
 
jennmac415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 1,903
I want to do this in my tank, only been up since August, just don't want so much sand.... How do you keep the rocks from rock-sliding as you change the sand level around them.. i want to keep about 2 inches when all is said and done.


__________________
Jenni AKA "Reefmama"

Current Tank Info: currently just have a 34 gallon.
jennmac415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/16/2008, 02:04 PM   #7
mrme
Moved On
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: LA
Posts: 465
Well Theoretically Your "Base" Rocks, should actually be down into the sand, so that it keeps it stable.


mrme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/16/2008, 03:17 PM   #8
jennmac415
premium member "reefmama"
 
jennmac415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 1,903
ummm... well, they aren't.... lets just make it short and say I had way too much "help" when setting up my tank... so what should I do?


__________________
Jenni AKA "Reefmama"

Current Tank Info: currently just have a 34 gallon.
jennmac415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/16/2008, 03:34 PM   #9
deklin
Registered Member
 
deklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Superior, Colorado
Posts: 456
If your sand was put in the tank before your rockwork, then your best option would be taking out your liverock and corals and storing them in a temporary or QT tank while you remove the sand.


deklin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/16/2008, 03:51 PM   #10
Mikigo
Registered Member
 
Mikigo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Southern Cal
Posts: 465
How do you guys remove the sand. Can you wash it for reuse?


Mikigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/16/2008, 05:47 PM   #11
power boat jim
Registered Member
 
power boat jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wisconsin, The big peninsula
Posts: 2,100
Remove the sand with a garden hose (siphon it out). I have been removing the sand from my tank for about 2 months. I do just a small amount of sand each time and just replace the water. I remove about 14 gallons of water and about 4-5 lbs of sand every 2 weeks. I still have some to go.

The sand is full of crud, I cant believe how much "stuff" has been removed from my tank. I will not replace the sand under the rock structures, and I am slowly replacing the sand (though now just enough to cover the glass) in the areas that can be seen.

I have been doing this changeover very slowly. In doing so I believe the new sand can cycle and become live with litttle or no impact on the system. I have also seen the Ph come up by .1 during the day since the cleaning began.

i would not reuse any of the old sand that has been removed.


power boat jim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/17/2008, 04:07 PM   #12
Randy1
Registered Member
 
Randy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lorain, Ohio USA
Posts: 578
You guys worry too much I siphoned all at in about 2 hour job, blew crap all over with powerhead then siphoned the rest and called it a day, no problems.


Randy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/17/2008, 04:43 PM   #13
jennmac415
premium member "reefmama"
 
jennmac415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 1,903
you siphoned all of your sand out at once? Did you take your rocks out to keep them from rock-sliding? I just want to take a few inches out, mostly from the back of the tank...it is much deeper in the back than the front and then spread what's left through the tank to make it shallower all over, but I really don't want to have to take 200 lbs of rock out...


__________________
Jenni AKA "Reefmama"

Current Tank Info: currently just have a 34 gallon.
jennmac415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/17/2008, 05:39 PM   #14
REEFY1
Registered Member
 
REEFY1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Vinton,VA
Posts: 983
Mine came out fine-Black is all get out in the back of the tank- Things have perked up though-


__________________
Chad

Current Tank Info: Doing a 180 This Time!!!
REEFY1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/17/2008, 05:42 PM   #15
jennmac415
premium member "reefmama"
 
jennmac415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 1,903
HOW do you guys siphon the sand without the rocks "rock-sliding"??


__________________
Jenni AKA "Reefmama"

Current Tank Info: currently just have a 34 gallon.
jennmac415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/17/2008, 05:47 PM   #16
REEFY1
Registered Member
 
REEFY1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Vinton,VA
Posts: 983
Just get a hose and start siphoning the rocks will stay as long as they are sitting right-


__________________
Chad

Current Tank Info: Doing a 180 This Time!!!
REEFY1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:27 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.